mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here I go, into the wild blue yonder!

It has taken me 15 minutes to log onto Diaryland, and I have a suspicious feeling that this entry will end up floating invisibly throughout cyberspace. So, if you hear a loud curse word coming from the general direction of Missouri, know that it is me.

And this entry won't be long at all. So, you won't lose much. I'm about to go watch a movie. And if I were to choose between updating all of you and watching a movie, guess what I'm going to choose.

Yep.

I am officially on spring break now. No work and no school for the next three days. And I have absolutely no plans.

I did have plans. Lots of them. Elaborate ones. But each one got pegged off one by one -- by the Fate in the great bell tower in the sky -- and now I have no plans whatsoever.

I was originally going to go to Chicago. But my banking account was a little... bare to pre-purchase the train ticket. And I wasn't going to pay more to buy a ticket on the train. I'm too cheap for that.

Then, I was going to go visit Lisa. But her banking account is low as well, and she is going to be working some extra hours to make up the difference.

Then I was going to go to Arkansas to meet up with a good friend of my sister's. More on the reasons why later, but Arkansas is a little farther away than I had originally anticipated (how many states do not border Missouri? Answer below...). So, that plan got shot to hell.

Now I plan on sitting around for 3 days. I may go fishing. I may go on a day-long road trip. I haven't been to St. Louis in a while. This sounds a bit dark, but I wouldn't mind finding some old road-side cemeteries and take some photos. Black and white.

For three days, I'm going to be a free spirit, dammit, even if it kills me.


Ok. So, visiting my sister's friend in Arkansas. But first, a pre-story.

My friend Aussie Janelle and I have been talking about future things: how we will support our respective families, how we can pay off the dreaded school loan, how we can have a house, etc.

My big idea was to join the Air Force after I graduated. I would enter as an officer. Especially since I am an Eagle Scout. But I didn't know what rank, pay, etc., I would enter as. I had a ton of questions.

My friend Wtin was in the Air Force for quite a while, and he gave me enough information to whet my pallet. So, yesterday after work, I went and talked with an Air Force recruiter.

Yes, I always said I would never enter in the military. But that was mostly because I am a yeller pretty boy who is afraid of getting killed by some hairy, smelly Afghan dude. I doubt the Air Force, though, sends 5'6" English degree holders with bad eyesight into the front lines.

Thank God for the Marines.

After a good 1.5-hour meeting, I came out feeling kind of pumped about the Air Force. Having a free home is quite appealing to me. Plus all of the other benefits beats the private sector out of the water.

For instance, it has taken me 7 years in the broadcasting industry to finally get to a point where I can have benefits. In the Air Force, it is pretty much instant. Broadcasting: 7 years and I can afford to rent an apartment if I scrap and save. Air Force: they GIVE me a home.

All of that, and I look damn sexy in uniform.

Two days ago, the Air Force was a kind-of option. Something to do if I fail miserably in finding a job. Now, it is more like a full-fledged possibility.

From Ferris Bueller's Day Off:"Call me sir, goddammit!"

What does this have to do with Arkansas? My sister's friend is married to a guy who joined about two years ago. I was wanting to go down and see what life was like for them, research my job options, etc. But it is about nine hours away. Don't feel like making the drive.

So, I'm going to be propped up beside Lick Creek, fishing pole in hand, and sleeping soundly. I don't even care if I have bait.


Speaking of the military...

Did you see the Today Show today? Matt Lauer was on the USS Theodore Roosevelt, which is coming into port tomorrow. It was a great Today episode. I kinda got teary a few times.

Since Sept. 11, things like Today's episode does that to me. I know... I'm a sapp.

But as he went down line of enlisted men and women, asking their names and where they are from, I heard the following list of home towns: Kissimme, Florida; Memphis, Tennessee; Mobile, Alabama; Savannah, Georgia; etc.

Not a single yankee in the group. Ok. So, there were a few. But the vast majority of sailors were Southerners.

Makes me proud. Really and truly. We Southerners are stereotyped a lot(I'm from Mississippi), but we stick by our country.

Three facts of life: Pay your taxes, expect death, and don't ever piss off a Southerner.


Well, I need to go. I was going to comment on how the guy in the Listerine commercial -- the one who is swishing and gurgling -- looks like he is getting more than fresh breath, if you get my drift...

But I won't. This diary is rated PG, remember?


(Answer: 41. Don't say I never taught you anything.)

10:46 p.m. - Tues., Mar. 26, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster