mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back from Jolly Ol' England

Hey guys!

I got back from England late Tuesday night my time, so mid-afternoon your time. I had a BLAST.

Except, you know... I missed Christina. But other than that, I had a WONDERFUL time. Brookey-Brooke makes the best travel buddy ever. We did so much stuff in three and a half days.

Some things illegal in the United States. Some things perminantly altering our bodies. Some things both.

Mwa-ha-ha-ha.

I ended up taking about 150 pictures, so I am sorting through them now to make an acceptable photo presentation for your viewing pleasure. I wanted to have them ready for you as soon as I got home, but it takes a little while to sort through so many pictures and pick out the best ones that most illustrate the trip.

We stayed away from most of the touristy parts of London, though, so I feel like I got a lot of pictures of real Londoners doing what Londoners do. I was bot impressed and disappointed with the street performer scene in London. There were very few performers on one hand, but the performers I did see were all really, really good.

There was one girl who I snapped pictures of who wasn't exactly classically pretty, but her voice and her talent and her passion made her quite interesting to me. We talked for a little bit after she sang, and she had the nice British accent to boot.

Ahhh. I love, love, LOVE the British accent on girls. It is such a nice compliment: girls with English accents. And the girls of England typically have the body type I drool over, so the whole time I was there I was drooling.

Yes, Christina knows.

No. She doesn't care.

(A note for Brooke, who reads this: Yes, I was drooling over you, too, dear.)

But yeah... great times in London. And Brighton, where we went on Monday for a stroll down the beach and a plate of fish and chips.

The overall nice thing about the trip was being back in an English-speaking atmosphere. You forget just how much you feel like a complete idiot when you live outside of your verbal boundaries for so long. It was incredible going into a bookstore, for example, and just spending an hour looking through the sale racks and understanding what you read.

I bought The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Being in a bookstore again was like that first glass of ice tea after a long, hard day of working outside.


The election was no major surprise if you follow the news at all. The polls were pretty dead on this time, which is new. They must be getting better with poll technology and information sharing. I have never been a believer of polls and usually ignore them. But some websites were starting to take all of the polls, add them together, average them, carry the decimal, and ended up producing a pretty accurate forecast.

Just a few election comments, if I may. It'll be brief, I promise.

First off, the Dems aren't doing themselves any favors at all by bashing the majority of the country that voted for Bush, calling them stupid idiots, redneck hicks, etc. It comes across as being sorry losers, which, if you remember back from kindergarten days, is a bad thing. The Michael Moores of the world would be better off just saying, "Hm. I guess what we offered wasn't what the majority of the country wanted. Maybe we should change our views a tad and try again in four years."

Second... what the hell happened to the young vote? They embarrassed themselves is what they did. You want to know why politicians don't pander to today's youth? It's because the youth can't pull themselves from McDonalds or Jerry Springer for five minutes to vote. Kerry would have won by a record-winning landslide had the youth force actually gotten out and voted. Shame on you 83% who didn't vote.

But what do I care? I voted for Dubya. So, thanks to you 83% who didn't vote. You kept my military benefits in check for four more years. I have no sympathy for a demographic who can't help themselves.

Finally... I thought the networks did a better job this year than last time. With the time difference, I was able to watch it all through the American night and morning. Most were very cautious and fair. The Kerry Klan was right in not jumping any guns in conceding too early. Remember when Al Gore did that last time?

Overall, I personally was pleased with the election. I helped legalize marijuana in my home state of Missouri. Well... I helped de-criminalize it, anyway. Legalizing it will take another 10-20 years, at least.


Who has the Sims 2?

Who wants to buy me a copy?


Well, that's it for now. Come back on Monday for pictures from my trip.

8:28 p.m. - Fri., Nov. 5, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster