mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Observations on the local impact of war.

Really and truly... I'm not going to spend an entire journal entry on the war. I am going to spend the time talking about some of my observations to how things have changed because of the war. I wish I could talk about quirky things that have happened to me, but it just doesn't seem important.

Like it or not, America is in war. We were in "war" at the beginning of the 90s, but that SOOOOO pales in comparison to what we are in now. More Americans died within an hour and a half on Tuesday than Americans died during the entire Iraqi War. Here's what I think the history books will read about our war history...

...And there was a brief war in 1991 between the US and Iraq. Very few American casualties, many Iraqi ones. Ten years later, America got attacked by state-sponsored terrorists yielding airliners full of civilians, targeting multiple buildings full of civilians. Then, America allowed for all hell to break lose.

I think it is grand that the European Union has called for a day-long time of mourning for what we are going through. What wonderful allies they are! They probably realize that this can *EASILY* happen to them. They probably realize that they are lucky it didn't happen to them this time.

They probably realize that we Americans are one group of PISSED OFF mofos who are ready to attack ANYONE who seems remotely responsible.


I went to the mall last night with a bud of mine. We went and ate Chinese food. I had cashew chicken, my fave. But the mall was completely empty. I had no trouble finding a great parking spot.

What was even more weird was this: The teenagers with the blue and pink hair, the ones that cuss real loudly because they can, the ones that smoke like they wanted everyone to say, "Look at that blue-haird teenager over there. He's smoking! How kewl is *that*?!"... You know what teenagers I am talking about. They weren't at the mall. These are the people I thought lived at the mall. Supposedly, they have other places to go. Hopefully they went and signed up for the army.

I did see a few people with multi-colored hair. But they were acting strangely as well. They were sitting **at** (not on) tables. They had books in front of them. And they were talking. I couldn't hear them, but I knew what they were talking about.


On a completely different note...

Columbia opened up their brand new Barnes & Noble. Being the hooplah freak I am, I had to go see all of the hooplah over the new bookstore. There wasn't none. Y'know... war and all.

But I saw all kinds of people while I was there. First off, I saw the chick I sneezed all over one night. Re-reading that entry, it sounds like I faked the sneeze I plastered on her back. But I didn't. Real snot and everything. So, I saw her there. She's the chick I called and she never called me back. Damn... I wonder why...

And I saw one of the girls from my computer class. One of the good-looking ones. I gave her a smile and a wave. I think she wants my hottt bod.

I also ran into another girl. We were making fun of the "Guides for Idiots" books. You know the ones I am talking about. "Idiot's Guide to Gambling," "Idiot's Guide to a Perfect Marriage," "Idiot's Guide to Smoking Crack."

So, as a line... I gave her the address to this here diary.

JP Suave.

I also got an cold mocha. I like having iced coffee. My Best Friend Lisa taught me about iced coffee when we were going to The Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science. It's some good shit! I like it "on the rocks," mind you, and not blended.

Next time you go to a Starbucks or maybe a Panera Bread Co., or some place that serves hot coffees and blended-ice coffees, tell them you want the blended-ice coffee, and then tell them to not blend the ice. Watch their expression. It screws their world UP. You may as well tell them to stand on one foot, jump up and down, pat their head to the beat of "William Tell Overture," all while singing the "Star Spangled Banner" backwards. They just can't do it.

About 75% of the time, they have to call the manager to see if they can make a drink without blending it. And about 95% of the time, the manager says, "Yeah... just pour it on ice, put a lid on it, and give it to the customer." The customer being me. But managers can't seem to grasp the idea that it is I, the person standing in front of them, that wants their drink this way.

And when the clerk realizes that the drink is actually *easier* to make this way -- Um... hello, Sherlock -- they smile again, pour the drink, and give it to me. Then they watch to see my facial expression when I take my first sip.

I usually overexaggerate to make it look I am getting some other kind of oral pleasure. They smile at the realization that they are one AWESOME coffee server.

And I am left with something to write about.


Go join the army. Go give blood when they need it again. Send a letter to the firefighters of New York. Real letter... not email. They were our first soldiers killed in combat. They are our heros. You will never see people as brave as these firefighters.

9:17 a.m. - Thursday, Sept. 13, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster