mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hair-washing wishes and chicken dreams

If you didn't already know, I work at a television station. The fact that I am sick of working in broadcasting has nothing to do with the following story. I'm just mentioning it because, well, I am sick of working in broadcasting.

I woke up this morning to a realization that our Idiot News Director really put our station in a real bad light. What did he do? Go HERE (for the news report), and here for an opinion on the subject.

Now you get to hear my opinion on the subject. NUMEROUS times, our anchors have promoted -- ON AIR -- fund-raising drives for AIDS, breast-cancer awareness, the United Way, and other good causes. What I don't understand is why a 36-hour Jerry's Kids marathon, complete with journalists coming on-air and begging for as much money as we could possibly fork over ("Starve yourself for one day and send a kid to MD camp for a week!" "Baby diapers? Who needs 'em? Send that money to us!") doesn't sacrifice journalistic integrity, but having a little red-white-and-blue ribbon on your lapel does.

Our Idiot News Director is a professor for the university here in town. If you don't know, our television station is owned by the university, thus it is a state-run television station: one of only two in the country (that I know of). He says that, since we are state funded, we have to make extra-special care to ensure that our news coverage isn't influenced by the government.

Funny... I thought wearing a flag button on your collar just meant you were patriotic and loved your country.

But, like I said, I think our Idiot News Director is just a big moron. He's one of these stuck-up professor types who knows everything and the students know nothing. What's scary is that he is teaching these people what "good" journalists are. If you are ever in town, take a look at KOMU news. You'll see a bunch of bumbling idiots who are MUCH more concerned about how their hair looks than they are concerned about some library research that would make their story much better. See, that means reading books.

And broadcast journalists can't read books.


Well, that was my two cents on a topic many of you couldn't give one cent of care about.

But thanks for reading. It warms my heart.


Take a peek up in the guestbook. My Boring Computer Class teacher has made her debut appearance on it. She told me tonight in class that she read this here diary.

I have a funny feeling that she didn't much like it.

Yeah...

This is under the false supposition that all of you like it and how she should be the same.

So, if I end up with an 'F' in this class, I know why.

Even though I made a 100 on that kick-ass term paper I wrote a week ago.


Most guys my age dream about:

  • Beer

  • Women in bikinis

  • Women in bikinis doing strange sexual favors to different parts of his body.

  • Drinking beer while watching women do said sexual favors.

  • Going to school naked.

Me... I'm definitely not "most guys." In fact, I could probably more acurately be described as "unlike most guys." In most of my past long-term relationship, I did most of the girlie things: I cooked, I cleaned, I decorated, etc. (But no, I'm not gay.) I hate sports.

Well, "hate" is a strong word. I loathe it. Despise it.

Golf and basketball are two things in life I wish I could completely wipe off the face of the earth.

But anyway... I digress.

So, I went to bed last night in my supercomfy bed. I love that thing! Anyway, I nod off into dreamland, and what do I see myself doing?

I'm cutting up a chicken.

It was a nice sized bird, too. I think I was going to be making my famous orange-glazed chicken. At least, it was famous in my dream. But I had that thing all mapped out, and I remember distinctly cutting out the wish bone so the breast would be just perfect for cutting out.

I woke up with half of my pillow stuffed in my mouth...


If you've noticed I've used a TON of italics on this entry, you aren't alone. I've noticed too, and it is bugging the hell out of me.

Sometimes, I just do things that annoy even me.

Like when I take a shower -- a nice, long shower -- and I get out, get dressed, and go to comb my hair...

... then realize I forgot to wash my hair while I was in the shower.

Damn, that pisses me off.

I know, because I did it this morning.

So, I got re-undressed. I re-got into the shower. I washed my hair. I re-got out of the shower, re-dried off. And re-dressed.

Who's an idiot???

If you guess JP

You're the winner!

10:34 p.m. - Thursday, Oct. 04, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster