mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm 24. What's your excuse?

The wine has been drunk. The food has been eaten. The candles have been blown out.

I am now officially 24 years old as of 4:15pm Sunday afternoon.

On that fateful Friday afternoon 24 years ago, a little, naked, screaming JP entered this world all bubbly and full of wit.

Who knew that two dozed years later, you would be sitting in some random area of the world reading about the many misadventures of this guy you know as the Great Jon-Paulismo.


Since my last post, not much has gone on. Lisa and I had a wonderful evening in St. Louis. We went and watched some music. Had some dinner. Sat in traffic for an hour.

You know... your basic St. Louis fare.

Then on Saturday, I slept late then went out shopping with a coupla friends. We went to the mall. We went to Pier 1. To the grocery store.

I know you are doing everything you can to keep your eyes open. I didn't say I had an overly exciting life.

Thing I dislike about being single #7239284: People like to keep you updated when they last saw your ex.

But this time it wasn't all that bad.

"I see Mandy every now and then," she said. "Usually, she's drunk off her ass and making a total idiot of herself."

Yeah... Sounds about right.


So, I went to a party on Saturday night. It was homecoming here so allll of my friends who left town after they graduated from college all came back. There was close to 30 of us.

And it was such an adult party. No music at all. Drinks included wine, light beer, and fuzzy navels.

We all sat in a huge circle by the wall and we talked and caught up. Gawd... I kept expecting there to be door prizes.

It was fun -- don't get me wrong. But it definitely wasn't a college party. It was a "we are all professionals now and we have to be in bed by midnight or else our noses start falling off" party. Very civilized.

We talked about... new pets, jobs, relationships (those of us who were so lucky)... crap you see people talk about on movies. You know... the real old people conversations.

It's damned depressing, I tell ya.


Then Spanish-Speaking Neighbor took me to dinner on Sunday. I think she wished me a happy birthday. I'm not quite sure.

It sounded something like, "Quiero estar contigo." Whatever that means.

But she had cake for me and everything. So, I did have a little bit of an actual birthday party on my actual birthday. It was a hella-bunch better than last year!

But that's a different journal entry.

I'll need a bottle of whiskey.

12:51 a.m. - Tuesday, Oct. 16, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster