mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can't think of a title that sums up this entry

I got paid yesterday -- Wednesday. Normally by now, I'm out of money. I go through money like Robert Downey Jr. goes through rocks of crack.

But I went to school today to register for next quarter's classes. When I went to student accounts, I had to knock pretty loudly because the ladies there -- the ones who are always a little more chipper than should be considered 'normal' -- were decorating like a whole pack of mofos.

Christmas decorating. Ek.

But I finally forced one away from her fake snow (ok... this heat is getting g'damned depressing) so she could process my loan money and make the computer screen to say "paid."

She pressed her pretty little keys, giggled a little, and said, "Did you know you had some money reimbursed from last quarter?"

Huh? Did you say "you" "have" and "money" all in one sentence? By God, I think you did!

Loan reimbursement. I was sure it was $15, enough to buy one taco from Taco Bell (what happened to their 35-cent tacos?)

After getting fully registered, I went back to pick up my $15 check. He handed it to me, I signed the paper saying I got it, and looked at the check.

$400. FOUR HUNDRED FRIGGIN' DOLLARS. My eyes were those of old cartoons where the dollar signs pop out with the "A-yoooooga!" sound.

It's amazing how a little slip of paper with a few numbers printed on it can change your whole outlook on life.

I was happier than Michael Jackson at a Cub Scout camp, I tell ya.


I put out some flyers at school looking for a roommate. I had three different ones made up. The first one was:

Free Beer!!!*
*room rental required

The second one said:

Local Chef Needs Food Taster*
*room rental required

The third one said something to the effect of "Do you" and I listed about six or seven synonyms for hate and then "your old roommate? Then come live with me!"

Student Life wouldn't let me hang the beer one up. It's a Christian college and all.

Y'know... beer has a dash of satan in every bottle and all.

I meant to make a flyer with a picture of Daisy the Dog on it -- one of her cute pics, with the headline "RENT MY ROOM OR THIS DOG DIES!"

A little harsh and over the top, yes. But so are my monthly rent and bills.


In one week, I'll be back home again. Anybody want anything from New Orleans? Give me some money and your address and I'll ship it right out.

Heh. Yeah, and I have a bridge to sell ya, too.

This time, I'm forsaking the airlines. I am sick of flying. Sitting in a cramped, lumpy seat, being served half a drink by people who have the authority to handcuff you if they don't like the look in your eye.

And the snacks... Last time, I only got one bag of snacks out of four legs of flight. And I think that bag-o-snacks must've been labled, "Pieces of sticks and rocks seasoned heavily with powdered cow shit."

That's what it tasted like, anyway.

This time, I'm taking the train. **MUCH** more comfortable. The seats are large and comfy. You can get up and walk around.

There's an actual resturaunt on board with large windows so you can watch the sun rise and set, depending on when you ride.

And you actually meet people on the train. You almost have to. Since there is limited space, you have to eat meals with people you've never before met.

If you're lucky, you can meet a hott chick and invite her back to your seat!

Yeah. I'm dreamin' again.


That's about it. I'm working on a gift for the folks. I went to Chicago last summer (remember all of the Emma entries? I've been meaning to call her...) and kept a pretty decent travel log of my trip.

Now, I am writing a full-fledged travelogue. I'm at 14,000 words and 24 pages. I'm going to take it to Kinko's and make it into a book along with some of my poetry, photography, and recipes. I'm going to name my little book "Creation."

I have another 10 pages to write, so I need to get going.

Send me some email, will ya?

Sheesh.

12:26 a.m. - Fri., Dec. 7, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster