mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How I got from Point 'A' to Point 'B'

Wow... What a long day couple of days. I am exhausted, so I won't write much at all.

This is mostly a "Let you know I am not dead" journal entry. Because, simply put, I'm not dead.

I've been awake, except for one or two very short naps, since 9:00am yesterday (Wednesday) morning. It is now 11:15pm on Thursday night.

Here's a VERY short rundown on the past 36 hours:

  • Finished my finals at school, which included a 5-1/2 page paper I wrote at the last minute for my English class. I'm happier that school is over for the semester than Daisy the Dog was to see my leg walk through the front door.

  • I came home, packed, and watched "Ed" before taking a 1-hour nap. At 11:00, I woke up, threw my bags into the car, and headed off to Memphis -- a six hour drive.

  • In Memphis, at 5:00am, I met an old friend at IHOP. I wondered briefly if they had an International House of Pancakes in Afghanistan.

  • Caught the City of New Orleans train at 7:00. Met a real-life Eskimo man. He held my attention with his stories and wisdom for the whole trainride down. I also got hit on by some gay guy. What can I say? I've got it goin' on.

  • Good Friend Kourtney picked me up at the train station. She let me drive home in her dad's truck -- my first time to ever drive a truck, and it was in the middle of New Orleans rush-hour traffic. I survived.

  • Came home to more of Mom's Southern Cookin' than you could shake a stick at. Nothing better in the world than Mom's Southern Cookin'.

  • Showered -- finally -- for the first time in 36 hours. Now, I sit here naked, writing for your general enjoyment.


That's it. Now, I must go and crash HARD on my old bed.

I don't know how I ever slept on that thing. It's springier than Richard Simmons in a fat camp.

While I am living the life of an average Southern boy, I have an assignment for you. So go get a pen...

Ready? Good.

I need some MP3 suggestions. I like real easy-sounding stuff. Generally, I like things that you never hear on the radio. Something that exemplifies strong musical skill, and it lyrically makes you feel something.

Send forth your suggestions.

While you do that, I'm going to go to bed.

Goodnight.


(PS: The Food Network is now on my forever A+ list. New season -- new episodes and recipes -- of the Naked Chef starts on Jan. 8.)

(PSS: When I had breakfast in Memphis today with my old friend, one of the first things she asked was, "So, have you come out of the closet yet?" Um. Excuse me. I just have a thing for Jamie Oliver. One guy infatuation does not a gay man make.)

11:09 p.m. - Thursday, Dec. 13, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster