mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where Picayune white trash go (other than Wal-Mart)

I had a pretty nice day today. But I'm pretty tired and I have some left-over seafood in the oven, so I can't write much.

My Old Radio Friend, who is turning out to be a good source of free rides conversation during my days alone when everyone is at work, came over this morning and convinced me to go eat at Waffle House.

Not a hard task of convincing me to go there. (I like my hashbrowns smothered, covered, and chunked, thank you very much.)

After Waffle House, we went to this Mississippi business called Hudson's Salvage Center. Think: higher-class Salvation Army. Instead of people donating their unused, damaged goods for resale, this store takes donations from businesses that go out of business, have floods or fires, or just feel like getting rid of junk.

Imagine the junkiest store you've ever been in that sells absolute shit at incredible prices. Voila. You have Hudson's.

But not everything is absolute shit. That's the fun of going. Every now and then you run across something really nice at a great price. But watch out, jack. Hudsons has this silly habit of marking up prices to rediculous levels so they can mark them down at rediculous levels and still make a profit.

Most white trash people who shop there don't realize Hudsons marks things up, so they think everything there is a steal.

Case in point: today, I found a 100% polyester, ugly-ass powder blue shirt. It was marked up to $140. Then, they took off 90% of that. So, you can buy this shirt for $14.

Ain't no way I'm getting into 100% polyester for $14.

But I did some looking and found a rather nice buttoned-down, short-sleeved shirt marked up to $52. But it was marked down 80%. Since I just assumed it would be cold down here as it was in Missouri, I didn't bring any short-sleeved shirts.

This $10 shirt was looking mighty keen. So, I bought it.

Did I mention I went to Waffle House and Hudson's in my pajamas? And nobody looked at me funny? Heh.


I did something completely different than the normal JP routine today.

When I got home and put on my new shirt and a decent pair of pants, I took off my hat and did some writing.

Then, my dad came and picked me up. I looked in the mirror, and I had this Alton Brown thing happening up on my head.

So, I just decided to leave it. Go out into the world with umkempt hair. Do the Osama beard thing, but up on my head.

And I must say... I kind of liked it. It kind of gave me a care free feel to the world. It said, "I don't have to look good for you because, dammit, I feel good and that's what matters."

Yes, I am taking this way too seriously.

...

So, that's how daring I am in real life. I don't comb my hair.


I went to my first Bed, Bath & Beyond today. I am no longer a BB&B virgin.

And, as Good Friend Kourtney said to me: "That's dangerous ground. Hallowed, but dangerous."

Thank God I left my wallet at home. If not, I'd have had all KINDS of crap to take home with me.


My mom is using me for a holiday present to her co-workers. On Thursday, I'll be waking up early and cooking all morning. Then, I will take all kinds of food over to her work place so her co-workers will be well fed.

My problem: I have no clue what I will bring them. I want to make it grandiose. I want them to mess their elementary teacher pants.

I'd normally make a big batch of gumbo since Missouri folks don't ever see it and are impressed easily by it. But since I am now very close to New Orleans, people here don't get too enthused about a food they can get at most gas stations.

Any ideas what I could make? I was thinking about serving them (in their classrooms) a whole 4-course meal. hors d�oeuvre, salad, main course, and dessert.

I would bring wine, but these are 1st grade teachers. That could get ugly REALLY quick.


Well, I've written much more than I should. Now, my seafood is probably overcooked. Oh, well.

We can't all be chefs.

12:16 a.m. - Wed., Dec. 19, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster