mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How I Spent My Christmas Vacation

I thought Christmas would totally blow. Christmas is the only day of the year which I become a total pessimist and see only bad in the world.

Which was partially true because I had to sit through 11 hours of Christmas day television, notorious for being complete crap. No one's watching, so unload the worst shows you have is the mentality of syndicates and producers.

I can honestly say that I am, as of now, officially sick of Christmas carols.

But after work, I went to a friend's house in St. Louis. She graciously invited me for dinner. So, I didn't even come home after work (a fact you'll need to know later down in this entry).

When I got there and met the family, I saw that they cooked both a turkey *and* a ham. And they didn't know how to carve either.

So, Chef-JP came to the rescue. And everyone watched. I was the center of attention, which, of course, I really dug.

Then they wanted some gravy for the ham. I almost charged my normal cooking fee, but I realized they were nice enough to have me over for dinner, so I made their stinking gravy.

I think they liked it.

Well, until they all threw it back up.

(joke)


I stayed the night in St. Louis, and my friend decided to catch a ride back with me to Columbia. On the way back, we stopped at this place called World Market and did some shopping. I was wanting to see what kind of food things they had.

Nothing spectacular, food-wise. But it was like a giant Pier-1, but much cheaper.

I bought a wine rack and a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon. I also bought a "Beers from around the world" box set. I bought all German beers, because, well, I love German things.

We make it back to my place, and I dropped the bag with the wine. It busted, and I said a whole slew of dirty words.


Ok, remember the fact that I told you to remember? Here's where it comes into play.

I left for work on Tuesday morning at 5am. I didn't get home until Wednesday afternoon at around 3:30pm. And there was a little gift on my doorstep.

From my Secret Santa. I'm not gonna say much about it publicly for several reasons I don't wanna go into. Not now, anyway.

The question isn't who sent it. I think I know that. But the question is when was it sent? I know it has nothing to do with the actual gift, but I still would like to know.

Having a gift on my doorstep, though, was probably one of my Christmas highlights. I've always loved surprises, and this was definitely a huge surprise.

The surprise of surprises.

Geez... I wish I could tell you more, but I just can't. So, I'll shut up about it.


I got about $75 worth of Christmas money from relatives. And I've successfully blown it on worthless crap that I probably don't need, but I bought anyway:

Wine rack, books, tarot cards (for fun), two bottles of wine (one of them broke, remember?), beer (sheesh, I sound like a lush), some chocolate, and a magazine.

Pretty boring stuff, sure. But it's junk, and sometimes it is fun to blow you money on completely useless stuff.


So, today, not much happened. I have a lot of letters to write, which I'll probably do tonight. I handwrite letters. They mean more (at least I think they do).

In the girl department:

Some chick came over who wants to rent my room. Sweet. I met a girl last night who is single and is definitely ask-outable. And I am cooking in a couple of weeks for a girl I kinda barely know. She wants some gumbo. I can cook the hell out of some gumbo.

That's it.

G'bye.

8:41 p.m. - Thurs., Dec. 27, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster