mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm as shocked as you!

The impossible has happened: Gather the kids! Call the statisticians! Re-evaluate everything that you know to be true!

I had a date. A nice one! One that didn't make me lose hope in the female persuasion.

It was fun. It was exciting. It was very pleasing. And through it all, it was also a little weird. But weird in a good way.

She and I (yeah, I know... a *SHE*) started out by going to see I Am Sam at the theater. It was an incredibly touching movie, and I highly recommend it. I completely fell in love with the little girl in the movie. It made me a little teary because it showed a life that I would totally kill for right now, but I know I can't have it for a long, long time. Also, I wasn't a huge fan of Sean Penn until I saw this movie. He was brilliant.

Story-wise, the movie was kind of like A Simple Twist of Fate, but not really. There were a few editing things I personally wouldn't have done. But who am I? Just some 24 y/o schmo who keeps an online diary.

Where was I? Oh yes, the DATE.

After the movie, we drove down to Jefferson City to eat at a resturaunt called Madison's Cafe. It's an Italian place with wonderful food. I got the manicotti and a glass of Pinot Noir. The wine was dead tasty.

She got something that started with a "C". My Italian isn't really up to par, so I can't really recall. Plus, she let me pick out the wine for her. I also got her the Pinot Noir.

You know you are going out on an "adult" date when the lady lets you pick out the wine.

After dinner, we went driving around a bit in Jeff City, where she grew up. She showed me her old high school, her old hang-out place, her old apartment. We then stopped by Baskin Robbins for a bit of a dessert.

Then, I got back here. Date's over.


Why was it a tad bit weird, you ask? Did she have an extra body part most "shes" don't have? Did she break out into some weird Martian language?

Nope, though the Martian thing would have been kewl.

Thing was... "She" is Co-Worker Terra.

Let me give you a bit of history on Co-Worker Terra:

We first met about four years ago when we were both working for ABC-Affiliate KMIZ. We didn't hit it off at all when we worked there. Contrarily, we were pretty much bitter enemies.

I got on her nerves, and she got on mine (to put it lightly). Which, at the time, she just blended in with everyone else who worked there. That place was like a Frat/Sorority house, and I was the geek who was invited just because I was the guy everyone could easily pick on.

So, I didn't dislike any one person more than anybody else (Ok... that's a lie. We had a producer that I *still* wouldn't mind if she 'disappeared'.), so Co-Worker Terra just kind of fit in with the rest of the crowd.

About a year after I left that hell-hole of a station and started working for NBC-Affiliate KOMU, Co-Worker Terra started working there as well.

Except this time, we had both matured about a year since we had last seen one another.

And we were downright cordial to each other. We actually had things to say to one another, other than, "You twit!" And "Fuck you, too!"

And so, somehow or one another -- neither one of us knows -- we kind of accidentally eased into "dating".

And I couldn't beGIN to tell you how nice it is to go out on a date with someone you have known for a while. None of that awkward "first date" sell yourself crap went on.

We have already seen one another in our most basic forms, and so there is absolutely no need, reason, or possibility to be fake.

Which, in a huge word, is "nice."


Wanna know what's really weird? When I was still with Mandy, and she was with this other guy that I was friends with, all four of us went out as a double date.

Weird how the Fates, in their deck of cards, can deal you out a joker.

11:00 p.m. - Fri., Jan. 25, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster