mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This and That: Goings On Since Wednesday

Ok. Seriously... I have one thing to say about the Olympics opening ceremony. It sums up all of the humor, excitement, good-feeling, and wonder that the opening ceremonies could bring to a group of post-college twenty-somethings.

It brought cheer, laughter, and numerous jokes. Who is this that I am speaking of?

Dick Button.

Of all the famous people who have changed their names -- Elton John, Bo Derek, Pee-Wee -- I would think this guy would be on the very top of the list of people who should change his name.

Oi.

And who else, besides me, was disappointed by the choice of the people to light the Olympic flame? I, personally, was hoping for someone real famous.

Most of those hockey players looked less like Olympians and more like Norm and Cliff from "Cheers."


And about the Olympics:

I'm usually not that attentive at Olympics time. I'm not a huge sports fan. But the Olympics are alright.

Unless I'm working the board at work. Then they are a pain in the ass because I never know when a local break will hit. (In case you didn't know: local break = work.)

When I watch the Olympics, I generally like the sports that have the most potential for horrible, blood-letting, career-ending, life-threatening accidents.

Which has got me excited about this Olympics because of the introduction of skeleton. If you don't know what skeleton is, you haven't been watching any television over the past six months.

I like the speed skiing because legs can literally come off. And the long ski jump just reeks of death-inducing accidents.

Yep. The Olympics, to me, are 11 days of NASCAR-like excitement. I just watch it for the accidents.

Oh... I also watch for Michelle Kwan. She's sooooo f'n hottt.


On to other news:

I finally got a Sam's Club card. It's always been my stance to never be in a club that would accept me. But Sam's Club is a bit different.

I make the exception because it is the only place where I can get a 3-lb bag of M&M's, down it with a 5-gallon bucket of juice, while cleaning my house with a gallon of 409.

I love Sam's! I love seeing the HUGE sized everything. It makes me feel like a kid again, when I couldn't lift the laundry detergent into the cart at the normal Wal-Mart.

Every try lifting 25 lbs. of laundry detergent? It's heavy, yo.

And, yes. Every time I go in, I go look at the $1,200 bottle of cognac. I seriously doubt I would like it any worse than the $20 bottle I tasted once.


We finally had a warmer day here than usual. I put on my shorts and short sleeves and went for a walk.

Walked 6.5 miles! (That's 10.46 kilometers for everyone who's not in the US)

My next goal is to have someone drop me off in McBaine and let me walk back. That's 8.5 miles, I think.

And then, this spring, I plan on walking for three days straight across Missouri. I will walk as far as I can in three days. I'll camp out, etc.

Anyone wanna come along? Hopefully by then, I'll be close to my target weight of 175. Translation: I'm gonna be one hot mofo. Ladies, feel free to apply.


And finally...

I've applied for a job at that restaurant I ate at a few nights ago. They are accepting apps for line cooks.

If I can get that job for full time, I'm probably going to quit my TV job. But I have a gut feeling that's not going to happen.

So, if luck smiles upon my sorry ass, you won't be hearing me bitch about my boring job anymore. Instead, you'll hear me bitch about how tired I always am.

One last thing:

I'm thinking of compiling a FAQ about myself. But I need some questions. Send in your questions you would like answered. No question is too personal, and all will be answered.

That is all.

11:00 p.m. - Fri., Feb. 8, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster