mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A revealing look into what Valentine's Day means.

Valentine's Day is fun and all. All of the flowers, balloons, lubby-dubbies said, and dinners eaten. It's all good.

But it is just not a guy's day.

I don't care if you are a gay guy or a straight guy. It isn't your day. And, if you have a 'Y' chromosome anywhere in your body, you have no clue what the big hooplah is over Valentine's Day.

You just don't get it.

But rest well, my friends. The Notorious J.P.B. is here to tell you what Valentine's Day *really* means from a guy's point of view.

Young guys, pay attention. This will prevent years of frustration and HELL that your girls will give you if you don't do Valentine's Day right.

And if you are an older guy... well, if you haven't figured it out yet, then hopefully this will do it for you.


I made the following realization last night when I called Spanish Speaking Neighbor over. She had been mad at me for a week or so because she was in a bitchy mood for a solid week and I was tired of hearing her screaming and bitching in some foreign language.

So, I told her that if she was going to continue to yell then she can leave my home. She left and didn't talk to me until last night when I told her to come over. I had bought her a little purple-flowering plant.

She was all excited and forgave me and gave me a hug and said, "Te voy a hacer el pito!"

I just nodded and said, "Ok," and told her I had to leave for Terra's. I wish I knew what she was saying sometimes!

But the whole interaction made me realize what Valentine's was really about.

It is the one day that guys can safely erase the board of all wrong-doings for the year. It is the day that you can right the wrongs. It is the day that you can turn in your "Get out of jail FREE" card.

See... Girls keep a score card where they keep only the bad scores. Make her dinner every night for a year? Score still at (0). Forget to put down the toilet seat one damn time? (-1).

Valentine's Day is the female reset button. But, by the sweet love of God, do NOT fuck up Valentine's Day. That is a mark put on your score card that will never come off.

I fucked up Valentine's Day with Mandy the Ex one year. Not just kinda fucked it up. I mean... ROYALLY. And what made it worse is that it was our first Valentine's Day.

This was back when I was immature and thought that Valentine's Day meant as much to a girl as it does to a guy. I've since become older and wiser.

We were together for nearly two years after that Valentine's Day. Know what she brought up as she was dumping dog food all over my bed?

Valentine's Day.


Why do girls get depressed and upset if they don't have a boyfriend on Valentine's Day, you ask?

Because they keep score cards regardless if they have a boyfriend or not.

Pulling for Gore instead of Bush? (-1). Had stock in Enron? (-10). "Friends" is on for yet another season? (-1000).

So, when Valentine's Day rolls around and they want their score card wiped clean by a nice romantic, schmoopy Valentine's Day, and they don't get anything...

They realize they have to go at least another year before their card can be completely wiped clean.

*THAT*, my friends, is why girls get either depressed or extra giddy on Valentine's Day.

And *THAT* is why I may not live to see tomorrow. This diary entry is sure to get me into some serious trouble by the ladies.


My Valentine's Day was nice. As nice as it can be to a guy.

Spent pretty much all day with Terra. We mostly ran around town, running errands. I was pretty tired all day since I cooked all night the night before.

We finally sat down and ate at around 8. The ravioli I made was a big hit. The red striping in the noodles really came out when I boiled them.

Personally, my favorite part of the meal was the salad. Since I've been on my diet, I've become a master salad maker. This one rocked my socks.

Oh. And the chocolate-stuffed strawberries were a big hit.

After dinner, I was exhausted and she was exhausted. We sat down to watch a romantic movie, and we both dozed off. She woke me up when the movie had gotten back to the Main Menu (DVD) and kicked me out. How nice.

But I enjoyed it. Like I said, it was as good as a Valentine's Day can get for a guy.

How was yours?

11:03 a.m. - Fri., Feb. 15, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster