mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In the beginning...

Ahhh... I love my 3-day weekends. They are so nice and weekend-ish. And they aren't on the weekend. Any more, though, week ends are relative.

Not too much going on, except all of the pretty snow we have been getting. It snowed almost constantly for 24 hours. Not much of it stuck, though. Which is good in some ways, crappy in others.

Crappy for you because you don't get to see any new underwear pics of me in the snow. And believe me when I say that it was the first thing in my mind when I heard snow was in the forecast.

Ok. Not really. But that would have been funny, no?


I was up last night watching Loony Toons on the Cartoon Network. They were having a Chuck Jones cartoon-a-thon.

A commercial for Long John Silvers came on. Ya know... the one with fried shrimp calling China to ask about their seafood fast-food service. The one where the shrimp has a French accent?

And then, it hit me. American media doesn't make fun of blacks and Hispanics like everyone complains.

Ok. Maybe a little. But that's not my point. Let me illustrate a little more:

Pepe le Pew: French

LJS spokeshrimp: French.

If I was an alien sitting down to watch television for the first time, I would conclude the following: The french have annoying accents, are 'shrimpy', and smell bad.

No wonder the French hate us so.


I have humongous diary news. Really big stuff. BUT... I can't say what it is right yet. It's not my decision.

If it were up to me, I would say over and over what it is. But I am legally stripped of the right to say what it is.

Not legally, but there are rules, and...

Well. I best shut up before I screw myself. I'll detail what it is as soon as I am allowed. Main thing to remember, though, is that it is big.

And if you send me boobie pics, I will tell you.


Without further ado, here is the first installment in...

Mandy the Ex Goes Quantity Surveying

Notice the Monty Python reference there? Good.

To start off, let me set the scene of where I was and what I was doing at the time.

I had just moved to Columbia about 3 months earlier. At the time of the move, I had basically left everything and everyone back in South Mississippi. I tried dating a girl when I first moved, but I was constantly so busy trying to find a job and getting settled... it just didn't work. She and I are still friends, and her attractiveness has exponentially multiplied. Too bad she married the very next guy she dated. (Just for the record, he's nice, too.)

But this isn't about her.

It was late July when I moved to Columbia, and I was well settled in and working by the first of November. It was time to get the ball rolling to finish making Columbia my dream home: A great job (which I had gotten), a great home (I had a real shitty apartment, but it was better than living in the streets), a great girl, and a great dog.

"How did you two meet?" was a question we got a lot. Usually we B.S.'d an answer like, "Oh, some common friends introduced us," or something like that. But I am here to tell you the truth: She had a personals ad on Yahoo. Sad, eh? What is even sadder is that I replied to the damned thing. And that very night, we started chit-chatting on ICQ.

ICQ sucks now. Back in the day, it was hot shit.

And that very night, we decided to meet at Denny's. When we met there, we got one of those short booths just perfect for two people. I was instantly struck by her looks: nearly black, thick hair down to her shoulders (her hair was nearly black... she's a honkey just like me), cute freckles on her nose, nicely dressed, nice body.

I forget what we ordered, though I know I ordered coffee, milk, and iced water. I just learned how to make iced coffee perfectly and I wanted some.

I know. I'm a dork. Sue me.

After leaving the restaurant, we stayed out in the parking lot for a long time, just chatting. I new instantly that I really liked her.

She had a laugh that was to die for.

She also had a boyfriend. But their romance was on the rocks. He was about to leave for the Navy, and she didn't much like him anyway.

We stayed out in the parking lot talking until way past 1am. Which was funny because the boyfriend was supposed to meet her at her house at 11. Time seemed to go pretty quickly.

We finally left, going our separate directions. I had no idea how fateful a night it was.

...to be continued


Well, that's it for today's entry. I just got paid, so I need to go buy things I don't need.

BTW... hover your mouse over the diary links on the left to see a little message. Ain't that nifty?

11:40 p.m. - Wed., Feb. 27, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster