mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Still liking the job, and what I think about Farrakhan.

Man... Cooking at a restaurant is fun and all, but sheesh. Do they really need to keep their knives sharper than razor blades?

Let's see... I started working there on Wednesday. I have a slice on my right ring finger that probably would require a stitch if I went to the doctor. I have a cut on my thumb that nearly took my finger nail off.

I also busted a knuckle on a cooler door when I was rushing to get a dessert out. I am going to keep an injury counter somewhere on this diary... I will take my computer to work with me (TV station) one day this weekend and program it in. I am also going to make a form that lists the recipes I am learning.

I say this is all coming. It may take a year to get it up. But it will be here.

Oh, and by the way. I don't let any blood get into my food. Seriously.

Despite all of the blood loss and aching knees, I am really loving my new job. I finally have a job that allows me to be creative in some form or the other.

I went to work yesterday, and my boss handed me a tray with 30 cornish game hens. "Here. Make soup." No recipe. No preferences. Just soup.

Me? I'm a Southern boy who grew up near New Orleans. You give me a bunch of meat and want something wet, I'm gonna make you what they call a "mess" of gumbo.

"Mess" is a Southernism for "a whole hella bunch of." Which is what I did. Ever make 5 gallons of gumbo? I didn't either until last night.

After I made all of that (took me about 3-4 hours to do the whole thing), the boss wanted quiche for tomorrow's (today's) brunch. He didn't tell me what kind, just that he wanted quiche.

I ended up making asparagus, smoked salmon, and parmesan quiche. It at least looked pretty. I don't like quiche, so I didn't try it.

Ok, you are sick of hearing about my new job.


About my contestantship on Diary Survivor 3...

It is in jeopardy. I didn't win immunity. Not only did I not win immunity, I didn't get a single vote for immunity.

That was a big ol' "YOU SUCK" from the judges.

Thanks, but my mom already told me that.

That means the first vote is being cast over the weekend. I will know by Sunday night or Monday morning whether or not I got my ass voted off of the island. I certainly hope not. I have a lot of people cheering for me.

As of the real Survivor...

I was actually pulling for Momma. I hated to see the old, hagly woman getting voted off. She represented all of the old, overly-strong-for-their-age-and-gender women out there. I heard a whole gaggle of "Awwwww"s when she got voted off.

The good news is that Sarah's Boobies -- though it was a close call -- get to stay on the island for another week. They better watch out, though. She's looking to be the next one.

(this is where my lack of knowing names will show through...)

I knew it was going to come sooner or later. I'm talking about Harlem Boy's complaining that he was black, therefore he was separated from everyone.

This aggrivated me because I **KNEW** it was a matter of time before he was going to do that. I should have taken bets.

"Yeah... They look at me like I'm a target because I'm a black man! But I'm playing head games with them because I'm black that they don't even understand. Look at them, being all in a group and having fun because they are white. I'm a black man, and that, alone, makes me different."

This annoys me because he will be the very first one to call racism when something doesn't go his way. I mean, really doesn't go his way. And yet he was the first one to bring up race. To me, that is racism.

Do we really need that on TV?

My personal opinion: No. Let's have a black guy on who says, "Yeah. I'm black. I'm going to do things on this show that lets others see how personable and nice I really am so that group of people will WANT to be with me."

We've had other people on Survivor like that. And they were the people I enjoyed watching. This guy? He's going to be a big ol' whiney baby.

And his chick friend didn't help the matter by calling him Louis Farrakhan. <sarcasm>That really makes me want to learn more about him and try to like him.</sarcasm>

But for all things good and holy... Let's get some bug spray on Chick Friend. She looks like she's been eaten alive!


Ok. I've probably gotten myself in enough trouble already.

I need to get to bed so I can go to work at 5am tomorrow morning. Am I crazy for working this schedule? I think I am.

I'm afraid I'll get burned out and run down the street naked in a weird exhaustion/nervous meltdown thing.

If so, I'll be sure to take pictures.

11:15 p.m. - Fri., Mar. 8, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster