mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Don't ever bring a rodent near a gay TV host!

I just got back from the Red Cross to relieve myself of about a pint of platelets and plasma. I think I am becoming less and less tolerant of the anti-coagulant. It gives me gas.

Or, better yet, it gives me an excuse for the gas I already have.

My favorite part about donating platelets and plasma? Her name is Megan. And she's a Southern girl, just like me.

You know what I mean.

But she's a hottie, and I like it when she holds my hand. She's usually holding a needle and is intent on poking me with it. Which means she likes pain...

Hmmm...

Anyway. But who says you have to donate parts of your body to try and better the world? I do it for the chicks!

Leave it to me to soil the sanctity of trying to save someone's life.


I really need to quit drinking sodas at work. Three a day is my average, and it is killing me on my days off. My head hurts worse than Barbara Streisand looks.

And speaking of work...

Remember that show I have a cooking segment on periodically? It's basically this hour-long variety show hosted by these two gay guys who are a couple in real life.

Yet no one is supposed to know about that. But everyone does. Not "everyone" as in the TV station. But "everyone" as in all of Columbia.

The main host, a guy named Paul Pepper (as seen here on the left; the guy who looks like Leisure Suit Larry; the guy on the right, "Uncle James," is his co-host/husband), is this huge animal buff. Every day he has two different animals on from the humane society so people will go and adopt that oh-so-cute animal they saw on Pepper & Friends.

Yesterday was a bit different because, instead of a dog, they brought in a Guinea pig. Yes, yes, the irony.

But it was a cute Guinea pig. Called Mohawk because of its disshevelled hair. That was the pet showed during the middle of the show.

The pet shown at the end of the show is also recorded so it can be played at the end of the 5:00 news. That pet was a dog. A rather large dog.

So, after Mohawk was shown and the show got on to other subjects, you hear this crashing and commotion sound. Then, about 5 minutes later, I heard the director say, "WHAT???"

Turns out, the dog got a bit hungry and ate Mohawk.

Poor Mohawk. Poor little Mohawk.

They didn't tell Paul the Host about Mohawk's death until the show was over, just before they recorded the 5:00 pet showing. It was like, "Paul, here's Coco. He just ate Mohawk. Now, act like nothing happened and pretend you love this dog."

Paul looked a little defeated.

I hate to say that the whole thing cracked me up. Because a really cute, innocent animal was swallowed whole. But it really was kind of funny in a real disturbing way.

Maybe you just had to be there.

Perhaps I should mention that this is the lowest rated show in its time slot in all of Central Missouri. A whole minute of commercial air time costs $50. And one of the reasons I wanted to be on that show was so I could say that I was on Pepper & Friends.

So everyone can have a good laugh.


This entry is quite short because I'm about to go talk to the Air Force recruiter. Again.

Except the guy I am talking with today is the officer recruiter. The guy I talked to about two weeks ago was the enlisted recruiter.

I'm actually leaning towards joining as an enlisted guy. More jobs I'm interested in. I'm actually considering going in (if I decide to go in, that is) as some kind of medic.

I looked at the jobs I was interested in and the ones that stood out were Aeromedical Apprentice and Medical Service Apprentice.

That's me. Mr. EMT with an English degree.

Nothing better than a nice job with a useless degree to make those 5 years of school seem like they were worth something.

I'll be back later to write my Immunity Challenge.

1:59 p.m. - Wed., April 3, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster