mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A whole lotta nothing

Sorry I've been a bit vacant lately. I've been doing a lot of reading lately. I've been reading all kinds of things -- things that fall both into the "required" and "unrequired" categories.

I found an amazing blog. Most blogs are by 20-something Generation "Whatever-the-hell-we-are"ers who think we all know what the meaning of life is.

It is refreshing to actually find someone who does know the meaning of life. Well... at least he now knows the meaning of his life.

His name is Gene Amole, and he's dying. Nothing quite like Death standing on your front door to make you understand what life is all about.

And there's nothing like a great writer with decades of editorial experience to make death not seem so scary.

I actually make that link mostly for my friend Mike. He's healthy as a horse -- don't get me wrong -- but he's also a great writer. He works for a paper down in Alabama and appreciates good writing.


And if I decide to do this whole Air Force thing, there will be a long-ass gap between updates due to boot camp. I may ask Mike to take my place.

But that won't be until January. Why January? I'm going on a ski trip with my humongous group of friends. I gots me some priorities, I do.

We go on ski trips about once every year or two at a place called Leadville, Colorado.

Last time the group went, I had to stay behind due to being a fresh hire at KOMU. But I went the time before. And I tried to ski.

Tried being the key word.

If you ever go to ski, take this as a bit of advice: If you *fall off* the bunny slope ski lift while on your way to your ski school final exam, you are NOT prepared for the experts-only course. If you do, this picture shows what happens. All of that skiing equipment is my debris trail. I'm down there kissing the tree.

But I'm going this year, dammit. Even if I have to put off joining the military.


I'm watching that show on the Travel Channel where they are going to different "real" locations of TV shows. It kind of blows.

Except for the Dukes of Hazzard segment. The Duke boys rawks my socks! Except for the time that the "other" cousins came on while Bo and Luke were having their contract disputes.

Yep. I love me some Dukes of Hazzard. Did you know the guy who played Boss Hogg -- the short, fat dude -- was this experienced Shakespearian actor and spoke like 20 different languages.

Ok. Maybe one or two less. But he spoke a lot. The Dukes was probably a step down for him. But he was a kewl bad guy.


Friends -- the TV show -- is evil. Horribly evil, I tell ya.

For a long time, I took pride in saying that I never saw a single episode. Then, everyone in my group of friends kept saying I'm a Joey re-make. Something about hitting on all the chicks, being a big flirt, and being way too hot and all. I mean, what better description of the JP, right?

So, I decided I had to see who else is hottt in this mean, mean world.

I watched one episode -- just to scope out my competition. And, yeah, it was kind of funny, but they didn't show much of Joey. So, I watched another. And another.

Now, I've been reduced to the status of "fan." Gawd... I never thought I'd see the day where I actually knew which one was Monica.

I'm becoming what I hate! The world is bizzaro! Up is down... BLACK IS WHITE!

Oh, the humanity!


Well, I need to go figure out what time it is.

Damned time change.

I got my good friend Lisa the Frizzy-Haired to be the guest final-word writer of today's entry. Which I think is a decent idea. If you want to write the closing of one of my entries, send me an email. I'll add it, guaranteed.

Anyway, Lisa... She's not a writer, mind you. Just a polymer scientist. So, I'll leave you with her very own final word masterpiece:

"The End"

(she thinks she is funny...)

8:19 p.m. - Sun., April 7, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster