mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's been a long time since Anne Robinson was in a title.

I really shouldn't be taking the time to add an entry right now. I have a lot of things to do, and I can't decide if it would be okay to do them tomorrow instead of tonight.

Yes, I am the king of all procrastinators. So sue me.

But really... One majorly important thing I need to do is go to bed. Tomorrow is Hell Day. Last week's Hell Day was missed because I was so exhausted by the previous night's lack of sleep that I felt sick to my stomache.

It absolutely sucks to be that tired. The only thing worse than feeling that tired is reading about it on someone's diary. So, I will relieve you of the pain and agony.

My main concerns are a paper I need to write for my literature theory class -- which is due tomorrow, but can be done quickly -- and a test in my Shakespeare class, which is on Thursday. I already have a copy of the test, and we can pre-write it. We just can't bring in a completed exam and copy it word-for-word. We can bring "anything but," according to super-kewl Ex-Marine, Shot in the Head Shakespeare teacher.

Other than that, life is easy.


My Air Force partner -- Janelle, the Aussie who Isn't -- will not be joining the Air Force after all. She got offered a very sweet job in Kansas City.

So, we went out for a celebratory dinner tonight of which she paid. Me, I'm a broke sumbitch. Why?

Because I went to the eye doctor last week! And even with insurance, I had to shell out around $350 total to get my eyes checked, new contacts, and a new set of glasses.

The frames I got are very sweet! They are in the style of "Nerd Becomes Trendy." You know... horn-rimmed guy glasses that would have been considered ultimate dorkdom 10 years ago but are kewl and trendy today.

Kind of like this:

That isn't the exact style, but it is close enough. I will be getting the glasses by Friday, so I will take pictures and post them soon.

But I am excited. So much, in fact, that I may be a glasses kind of guy for a while. It has been YEARS since I went around freely with glasses. Probably since 7th grade or so. But I was a major dork back then. Wanna see?

See? My name back then wasn't JP. It was Ima. Last name, Dork.

So, yeah. I'm going to now be Trendy Glasses JP, hero of dorks worldwide. My friend Lisa, Only the Polymer Scientist says, "tres cool!" Indeed.

I bet if Osama got some glasses like mine, he'd not look so weird.

Can you tell I'm excited about glasses? Yep. I'm getting older. Pretty soon, I'll be jizzing my pants over new socks and underwear.

Lisa also says I should get my hair cut like the guy in the glasses pic. Do you think it would look good? I think it would only throw me back into the dark pits of dork-despair again.


Have you been keeping up with some of the gameshows on TV lately? I sure have. I watch them on satellite at work before they are actually broadcast.

It puts me at an advantage at the bars when I offer to take bets.

My favorite all-time TV gameshow moment happened Sunday night on Weakest Link. If you didn't catch it, Sunday was the "7th Grade Version" on Weakest Link. All the kids were cuties, and I felt bad for them when they got voted off.

But there was this one chick... A girl from Miami who looked like she never got the slightest taste of the real world before in her life.

Her folks are probably rich and never get some lip thrown their way.

Anne layed everything she had into this girl. But it wasn't Anne's fault. This girl -- Vanessa, I think -- liked to flaunt her little 12-year-old badass attitude. Anne wasn't going to have none of that shit.

By the time Vanesse was chewed up and spit out, she was crying as she left the stage. Anne Robinson, HOST of the show, made a little girl cry on national television!

Man, was that great! Yeah, I know it is bad that the girl's feelings were a bit bruised. But she deserved it.

...

Have you seen The Bachelor? I don't even know what network it plays on. But it is...

It is...

I dunno. Sick? Weird? Uncomfortable? Quoting from the Drew Carey show, "Is patheti-sad a word?"

I dunno... For someone who is already a bit cynical about the whole marriage thing, this show just makes it that much worse. These girls seem to me to be a bit desperate.

From the guy's point of view, he is probably having a great time. Imagine having 16 absolutely stunning ladies throwing their bodies at you. And if you don't necessarily like one, you can just not give her a rose and voila! it's over.

But I certainly wouldn't do that for marriage. Seems a bit too important to make a game show out of the whole ordeal. I'm all about "traditional values" and "normal courtship."


I was chatting with Jaki last night about relationships. Mostly, about former relationships, communication with past loves, etc.

She wrote a lovely piece that really sums up what I feel about Mandy the Ex. Sometimes I miss her so bad that I want to search the streets of Columbia to find her and tell her that I miss her. Other times, I could care less.

But I shouldn't say too much on the subject. Last time I wrote something on this topic, my car got egged. I'm not pointing fingers. I'm just saying that it may be bad luck.

Go read Jaki.

And ditto it for me.


Well, I need to file my state income tax. I normally don't mind filing/paying tax. In a weird way, I feel more like a functional citizen when I do things like pay taxes and vote.

But if you knew our current Governor. He sucks donkey balls.

"One Term Bob" is what they call him. NOBODY likes him. Not even his fellow democrats. So, me being kind of conservative doesn't seem to be the cause of my dislike.

He's just an idiot.

And that's all I've got to say about that.

8:36 p.m. - Mon., April 15, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster