mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shaking off a hangover

I have a really, really good excuse for not updating yesterday. The excuse includes: 2 mixed drinks, one shot of Goldschlager, 1 glass of wine, 3 bottles of that "Flavored Malt Beverage," and one bottle of beer.

All while dancing with my pants hanging around my ankles (to show off the Santa Claus boxers I was wearing at the time) and watching the sun come up.

All of this drinking and bouncing around is NOT conducive to a healthy-feeling day. My head was swimmy, my stomache felt like it full of both lead and helium.

I think the medical term describing how I felt is, "likeium shitus."

So, yeah... That is why I didn't update at all yesterday. In case you were wondering, that was my big celebratory blast for losing as much weight as I did. Now that I have gained it all back -- from the drinking -- I need to get back on the horse.


Speaking of horses...

When I dragged my hungover ass home yesterday, I went straight to bed. I don't even think I took my pants off. I didn't get under the covers. I didn't close the blinds. And I sure as hell didn't go look at my answering machine.

Until I woke up at around 1:30 in the afternoon, bitching to the forces of the universe for making alcohol. Going into the kitchen to make myself some iced tea (a true Southerner's remedy for anything), I glanced over at the answering machine and noticed a little blinking 1. Expecting my roommate's booty call, who normally leaves messages on the machine, I hit play to hear:

<singing>You're Gaaaaaaay! You are a hoooeeeee-moooeeeee! Queer boy, queer boy, where are you???

I could only smile. My best friend back in the day, Marcus, had found my phone number and gave me a call. His accusations of me "challenging the dominant discourse" (thank you ENGL-490) was received as an endearing hug after not hearing from him for over a year.

Marcus? Who the hell is Marcus? You will remember him from the night I tasted a Wendy's 1/2 Pounder twice. Yes, this is the guy with whom I shot whisky out of a large Dixie cup.

I have yet to taste a Bloody Mary since then.

I called his cell phone a few times last night, but I never got him. So, I left a few obscene phone messages so he would have something to hear when he checked his messages.

I was hoping to get him live on the phone so I could get one of my girls (from the family I cook for), hopefully the youngest, to call him and say, "Marcus, my mommy tells me that you are my Daddy..." Man, that would have been fun! But no such luck.

I called him at work this morning, hoping to more obscene phone messages for all of his co-workers to hear. But again, no luck. The bastard picked up the phone.

We chatted for a while. He was at work, so we couldn't exchange "You're gay" remarks as loudly as we use to.

Man, growing up sucks.

But we exchanged email addresses, mailing addresses, IM screennames, etc.

What a great way to counteract a hangover.


One of my local friends last night phoned me at the spur of the moment and asked if I wanted to go catch a movie. Even though I was still feeling a bit queasy, I figured popcorn with extra butter and a large coke would be a great cure.

I ate and drank the elixers while watching About a Boy with Hugh Grant and some British kid who is ugly as sin.

I tell ya what... Maybe it was the breath of fresh air from not watching a multi-million dollar budgeted film with more computer-generated characters than real characters. Maybe it was because I was glad to get out of the house. Or it could have been the pleasure of having pure fat from the popcorn rushing through my deprived veins.

But man... I really, REALLY liked that movie. I laughed the whole time.

It's weird... I never imagined Hugh Grant playing an egotistical, pompous bastard.

(joke)

But he was really funny here. It made me want to move to England. Girls with British accents rawk my socks. And there are some definite lookers in this movie.

Chick flick? It may get the reputation. But it was a fun watch, just to get away from the whole Spider Man and Star Wars hooplah.


Well, I was supposed to go over to St. Louis today, but since it is raining out... AGAIN... I don't think that will happen. I am thinking I may do some cleaning. Maybe eat lunch out somewhere. Who knows...

Have a good day.

9:53 a.m. - Fri., May 24, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster