mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chicago has been invaded by Germans!

Here's a big "Howwwwwwdy Hoooooe!" from the Second City: Chicago, IL, home of the Weird Guy on the Street Selling Xerox Copies of the Sears Tower.

It was a long day of travelling. I got woken up at around 7:50 this morning by Spanish Speaking Neighbor who had a great idea for a hair cut for me. She graduated from beautician school about 5 months ago, and so she has an itching to use her scissors.

Last night, I went over and played Rummy with her and the strange neighbors who used to live right above me. I used to think he was a wife beater because I would hear his Spanish Speaking Wife (He's American...) scream in the middle of the night. Turns out, he's just really freaky in the bedroom. And she's one of those "Buy a Bride" women. So, I guess she has to be freaky in the bedroom as well. I assume it is in the contract somewhere.

"See, Honey: Section XI, Article 37, Subsection 12, paragraph i, it says it plain and clear. 'You must swing from the chandalier and agree to be whipped at the same time' if I request it."

I never said my neighbors were normal.

Anyway, I was playing rummy with Spanish Speaking Neighbor, Freaky Sex Guy and his Spanish Speaking Wife (yes, I was the only non-Spanish speaking guy at the party), and I told SSN that I wanted a haircut like Hugh Grant in his latest movie.

She didn't know who the hell I was talking about since Dominican women have no clue who Hugh Grant is. So, I brought her into my bedroom and went to the About a Boy website and showed her some movie clips. She mumbled some words in Spanish that I could only assume meant, "I can do something like that. I will call you too damned early in the morning and do it for you." As is most of the time that she mumbles things in Spanish, I grinned and nodded my head.

Hence waking up at 7:50 this morning. And she cut my hair. When I can post pictures, I will.

So, I get out of the house at 9:45, go to Target, and buy a new pair of jeans and a kewl travelling shirt. I ended up buying a pair of jeans that was ONE FULL SIZE smaller! Woo-hoo! I am back to being a size 34! This means my ass is now the size of a Blazer instead of a Suburban.

Again, I will post pictures when I get back home.

The train left St. Louis at 2:05, the first time a train has ever been on time in the history of the United States. I knew from the onset that there would be nobody interested in talking to me.

Why, you ask?

Because, while patiently waiting for the train, I was sitting in the station on these seats that are hard to explain. Imagine a metal frame that looks like an 'n", but the "n" is so long that it can hold 4 really uncomfortable seats. Now, imagine me sitting on the end seat, setting my backpack on the floor beside me.

Now, imagine me leaning to the side to dig out a book. Then, imagine the whole bench teetering along with me, so that the opposite side of the "n" was now floating 5 feet in the air.

From that point on, mothers were telling kids not to go around me. And cute girl across the station never even showed interested in looking at this side of the station. I was branded.

So, the ride up was pretty uneventful. I slept a good bit of the way. Read some. Listened to a few CDs.

When I got to the hostel, I went up to my room to settle in. The guy in the bunk below me is a British guy by the name of Clive.

Those British can think up some names, can't they?

We talked for a solid hour. He's an older guy of 38. Kind of a senior citizen in hostel terms. But he is quite interesting. He's over in the States for a month to ride his motorbike around from New York to here, through Virginia, and back. He was in the British Army for 10 years. Now he does....... something else. I can't recall at the moment.

Another roommate is a guy from Germany. Turns out, there is some convention here that has a lot of Germans attending. I think the convention must be called "Hot Girls with Sexy German Accents Convention 2002!"

Because, Man.... Wooooooo!

So, the three of us sat and shot the shit for a long while. After a while of talking about many different things, we decided to walk over to a quick stop and buy a couple of 6-packs.

It's been a long day of riding and eating shit for food. So... I had two beers and am a bit tipsy at the moment. Forgive any typos.


I don't know what the plan will be for tomorrow. Chicago is having a blues festival, and the hostel is hosting some kind of tour tomorrow. Maybe I will be the lone American amongst a sea of Hot Girls with Sexy German Accents.

Oh, the fantasies.

I could go to the art museum, but I've seen "Naked Woman Floating in Water" twice already. Reminds me of a scene in ER.

Sorry. Personal joke. You wouldn't get it.

But I am sure it will be fun, whatever I do. I'll update tomorrow night (Hot German Girls permitting) and let you all know.

Thanks for the many emails. As soon as I get home, I will reply to you all individually. I promise. They were all very sweet. Big hug to all of my homies!

I am out. I hear a ping-pong game getting started. You've never lived until you've played Ping Pong with a guy from Taiwan.

Or "fraternized" with a German girl.

11:36 p.m. - Wed., May. 29, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster