mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gene Siskel's spot has been filled.

No. None of you.

I got several emails of concern from some of my closest friends regarding that last post. You all can rest easy. I wasn't griping on any of you.

And I wasn't talking just about the SSN leaving incident. I just meant in general that is how it seems to go. Live and learn, I guess. It makes me realize how I can be a better friend to those who need me.

Always learning.


So, yeah, today's entry won't be too long. I haven't been feeling on the top of my game as of late. It started around last Thursday. I slept a great deal since then, but I wake up as if I had only taken a short nap.

Then, any time I move around any bit at all, I get this sudden wave of queasiness that is similar to how you feel when you just get off of the "Vomit Churner" at the city square fair.

For instance...

I have been volunteering at the Show-Me State Games. It's this big get-together for big guys wearing nothing but trench coats, and they....

Wait. That's not right.

It is this state-wide athletic match that is going on here in Columbia. Every summer sport played by every size of team come here and compete for... umm... bragging rights? I don't know what the payoff is.

Anyway, I was volunteering at the soccer matches. We had 18 fields of soccer going on at the same time, from ages 5 to "Over 40." It was pretty exciting.

I -- in my infinite wisdom -- decided to hop on a swing set and give it a go. I rarely get to swing (except my Wednesday night thing, but that is completely different kind of "swing."), so I grab every chance I can.

I didn't get four good swings up in the air before I had to quit and go hug a tree for a while.

So, I am taking it easy.


I saw Moulin Rouge tonight. I kept putting it off, saying that I had already seen Xanadu and didn't need to see that again.

From the previews of the movie, it looked like a 21st-Century version of Xanadu.

But when I went home, I went to the weekly party held at my Good Friend Kourtney's house, and everyone there gushed over how good a movie it was. And these were real manly men, too.

So, I gave it a try tonight. And it wasn't nearly as bad as I thought it would be.

It was a nice combination of Modernist Paris mixed with contemporary music and a timeless love story. All mixed with a whole bunch of midgets.

Beat me, starve me, call my mom dirty names... But any movie with a bunch of midgets is, in my book, a decent movie.

Although Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory really freaks my shit out for some reason.

Oompa oompa my ass, dude.

And that's all I gotsta say about that, yo.

11:21 p.m. - Sun., July 21, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster