mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's not the kids who are cruel these days!

Shout out to God!

I woke up from one of my long naps this evening. I think I got in around four hours, which is a typical Monday afternoon nap. Especially since I only got four hours of sleep last night. I just figure I am getting in my daily allotment of eight hours, but I am doing it in shifts.

Anyway, so I woke up and noticed my bedroom looked REALLY funky. I rubbed my eyes, opened them slowly, and the funk was still there.

Let me preface the rest of my little story with a little fact. When I was dozing off, the beautiful sounds of a Missouri thunderstorm pulsed through the house. I love the sound of distant thunder while watching the light wane beneath big, black clouds. Adequate sleep or not, that just begs for an afternoon nap.

But when I woke up, the sun was beginning to set, and the sky was still full of the clouds that fly high in the sky. Usually, during a sun set, the sky gets bright orange and red and looks like a tree during the fall.

But these high clouds reflected these deep oranges and reds down on Columbia, painting everything with a shade of fall.

It was very weird. It reminded me of wearing those sunglasses with the yellow lenses.

But better yet, it was uncommon. I love things that are so uncommon and massive as this. I went outside, barefoot, just to get a better look. My feet felt cool on the fresh grass. The air, though in the 70s, still felt a little chilly.

Kind of like a little vacation from summer, which I really don't like.


I just spent an hour and a half working on my Diaryland profile. I basically haven't touched my movie, author, and music tastes since I started this diary. And when I did start the diary, I just tossed up whatever came to my mind first with the intention of "changing it later."

Two-hundred and nineteen entries later, and I finally have it changed. Make special notice of the quotes I put under each of those preferences. Looking at them, I may go back and change some of the quotes to better grasp the gestalt.

William Least-Heat Moon's is mainly one I am concerned about. Blue Highways is the book he wrote that I can say is the single most influential piece of literature I have ever read.

Only because I have never read Walden. I am afraid to read that book. Knowing myself as well as I do, I would probably disappear for a year after reading it.

And the Air Force wouldn't like that.


Speaking of that whole area...

I am still waiting for the waiver from the government saying that, even though my eyes are crap, they will still let me in. Honestly, in a little corner of my heart, I hope they don't.

But I know this is the best route for me financially. My romantic heart just isn't in it as much as my logical brain.

But I am vowing to have one last bout of adventure before heading off to boot camp. I have been crunching numbers, and I have decided to leave the country a little after Thanksgiving.

I will probably spend Turkey Day, and a day or two before and/or after, with my friend Mike, who will be taking over this diary when I leave.

Don't worry. He'll only be writing what I tell him to write. In exchange, Mike will get one big thank-you gift from me upon my arrival back to the civilized world.

Anyway, after I leave Mike's house in New Jersey, I will fly over the big pond and spend a week or two in England and Ireland, backpacking around and meeting as many people as possible.

And yes, I hope to get in touch with Emma again. If you are new to the diary -- or you just forgot -- Emma is the girl I met in Chicago last year.

You can go read about her here. She's a doll.


Well, that's it from Monday. I need to go running, but just can't seem to get up and do it.

Spanish-Speaking Neighbor's oldest gave me the sweetest compliment today. "Did you get new pants?" "No," I answered. "Well, you must have lost a lot of weight. You don't look chubby any more."

I could have gone and gave her a big smooch. But she is only twelve, and I would have been arrested. But it was very nice of her.

Especially since, just a week ago, I had a girl tell me -- and I am not lying -- "You'd be hot if you were skinny."

Thanks.

Ego be damned.

11:01 p.m. - Mon., July 22, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster