mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

He loves him some anchovies.

Wow. Not a single question.

That puts the "JP Interest Factor" a lot lower than I originally thought. So, I guess that means no JP FAQ. Not now, anyway.

I guess I could look at it in a positive light and remember all of the really great emails and guestbook postings you send my way saying how you like how open and honest I am in my diary. Therefore, you already know enough about me to constitute asking a load of questions.

In that sense, you are all great and I am really touched. But I suspect you just don't feel like taking time out of your day to ask me silly questions about my favorite soda (Vanilla Coke) and my future kid's name (Samantha Scienna).

Honestly, I don't blame ya.


I was on TV again today cooking for one of our local shows. Really, it isn't that big of a deal. This hour is the lowest rated hour in the entire 24-hour broadcasting day.

So, basically, the only people really watching are those who actually have to work the show and old people in nursing homes who don't have the strength to press the "Channel up" button on their remotes.

Yet, surprisingly, they have enough energy to call when our Overly Dumb And Quite Unattractive Morning Anchor guest hosts and cusses on accident. Gray Hairs are on that instant dial as soon as the word "Ass" leaves her thin, vegetarian lips.

Gawd. I hope nobody at the station knows I have an online diary.

What was I talking about..... Ah yes. My cooking segment that nobody watched.

I made Caesar dressing from scratch because, well... I think everyone should make their own salad dressing. It is easy as cake and costs about five cents, and it usually tastes much better than the eight-dollar bottle.

When our host, who looks like a gay Leisure Suit Larry, saw that I was using anchovies (an integral part of Caesar dressing), he freaked.

Dude loves him some anchovies.

He talked during my whole demonstration about how he could sit with a whole tin of anchoves and munch little fishies all day.

His folks came over from Greece or Italy, so he grew up eating the stuff, ya see. His mom put anchovies in everything, uh-huh. He could eat anchovie ice cream, probably could.

Ha.

That was a fake "courtesy" laugh.

Instead of putting croutons on the salad -- because I forgot to make some -- I made some fried shrimp, breaded with a stale loaf of bread I cooked a week or two ago.

Paul damn near ate the entire supply of shrimp. Left only a few for anyone else who wanted some.

So, that was my cooking show for the day. I go back on in October. I'll probably be making gumbo.

Sans anchovies.


Sorry if I am a bit off tonight. Just had my last dinner with Spanish-Speaking Neighbor. She and the kids wrote me a nice card and got me a cute little necklace.

I spent the day with the kids, taking them shopping for little this-and-thats, and we went to McDonald's for lunch and a play on their indoor play place.

The 12 year-old is too kewl to play, though. So, she played games on my cell phone.

I also took them to my school so they can see what an "adult" looks like when he gets pissed off at financial aid for making him fill out FASFA forms, which take 4 weeks to process, and telling him he will have to pay out the wazoo in order to register.

The kids got an education today. If you wanna see what we look like, here are the four of us in front of my school. The 12 year-old is once again playing on my cell phone. And the look on my face is one that screams "Hey, lookee me! I have a tree root poking me where where the light of the sun never shines."

We had fun. It was my last time to get to play "adopted daddy" as they call me.

So, forgive me if it seems like I've lost my best friend.


Well, I will call it a day.

Oh. I finished the MKT. Walked it on Wednesday. All 8.9 miles. It took me only about 2.5 hours, which I don't understand. It used to take me 3 hours to walk 6 miles. This was close to 9, and it took me only 2.5 hours.

I must be getting into shape or something.

Which reminds me, I need to go for a run. So, look out your window. This Forrest Gump may just run by.

10:17 p.m. - Thurs., Aug. 8, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster