mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Next on Rescue 911: JP!

Well, I have one more day to spend with Spanish-Speaking neighbor before she heads off to the Californian abyss.

They say that tomorrow's weather will be rainy and gray with temperatures only reaching the middle 70s. Kind of appropriate, if you ask me. But with weather like this, mixed with my best friend skipping town, adding the fact that I have well over 100 hours of sick leave built up at work... Guess who's ass is staying home tomorrow.

If you said, "Well, that will be you, JP," then you will have correctly answered the $64,000 question, my friend. In fact, I just called in between writing that last sentence and this one and told them that they can all come and bite my sun-lacking ass because I wouldn't be coming in tomorrow. In fact, I got soooo brave that I said, and I quote, "I will be taking a personal day tomorrow."

Boo-yah! I bet they are all collectively recoiling from my harsh, harsh words.

Tomorrow will be spent walking around outside in the rain -- barefoot -- and helping SSN clean. She wants me to cook some bar-be-que, but I don't know how successful that will be in the rain. I've done it before, though, and it all worked out. I've also bbq'd in January, in the snow, and that also worked.

So, if you need me tomorrow, don't call me at work. I won't be there.


I got to call 911 tonight. How exciting!

I was over at SSN's house eating dinner and watching Meet the Parents on NBC. The 12 y/o came into the room and said, "Some guy is beating up a girl outside!" So, being the concerned and not-so-discreet neighbors that we all are, we turned off all of the lights, shut the blinds, and each picked a blind to pry open and watched the goings-on next door.

It was a man and woman fighting, and she was wailing as if he did something really bad to her. I couldn't understand the gist of what she was saying, but it was something to the effect of, "Wahhhh!!"

I guess a real man would have gone out there to step between the man and woman. But this particular guy was black, and it has been my experience that black guys hit little wimpy white guys really hard.

Hell. He coulda put a cap in my ass for all I knew.

So, I called 911.

Call me Ol' Yeller. But I am kind of depending on the Air Force to support me over the next 20 years. If I end up with a broken face or a bullet where the sun don't shine, the Air Force will think twice about having me join.


My right eye has been twitching for the past three days. And my muscles have been extra jumpy for some reason, too.

For some reason, I can just be sitting still, relaxed as can be, and my arm will jump up. Or my leg will kick out. Or my fingers will spread wide. All without me having much say in it.

It's like my muscles are watching Scream without me, and when the scary guy crashes through the glass, my muscles jump.

A year ago, I went to the neuroligist and had an MRI done. I had needles longer than a crochet needle -- seriously -- jammed into my muscles. They put something that looked way too similar to a hand tazer on my extremeties and gave me shocks that didn't make me all too happy.

Every time I would go to a doctor, he would pull out this thing that looked like a corncob holder and he would poke me all over just to see if I could feel it.

I could.

But they couldn't find out why I jump and twitch uncontrollably. When I get really anxious or sick, it gets so bad that I can't walk. It takes all I can to sit up in a chair.

When I was going through all of the shit with Mandy, I would have to just lay down for a while because I couldn't stand up due to the twitching and jumping like a freshly caught fish.

But usually it doesn't bother me at all. It's been going on for so long that I usually just ignore it. But this eye twitching thing is annoying the crap out of me.

Except for the new morning producer who looks a lot like Kerri Strug. I think she thought I was winking.


Well, I think that will be it for me today. It is now past midnight, and since I don't have to force myself to sleep tonight, I may go for a run and then for some coffee.

I am working on a play idea that keeps repeating in my mind. I'll just say that it is partly derived from my many daydreams and fantasies as a kid.

One day I will finish it and will let you all read it. But until then, it will live off of cups of coffee in smoke-filled diners.

11:41 p.m. - Mon., Aug. 12, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster