mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From politics to potty humor

I got a call from the Air Force. My waiver is back.

Well... sorta. It came back saying that I need to have a consultation with a military medical doctor. Basically, they will sit me down and do a real-to-life eye checkup. Probably to make sure I don't have a degenerative eye condition. Since my eyesight hasn't changed since I was in high school, I think the odds are in my favor.

It's looking like my recruiter will have to drive me to Scott's AFB in Illinois. At least, I really hope that is the case. The other possibility is that I may have to go back to MEPS. Which would mean another 2:00am trip to St. Louis.

MEPS just sucks. It's like a big cattle roundup, but instead of being sent to the relief of the butcher, we cows just stand around scratcing ourselves.

But since it has been 30 days since I weighed in last, I will have to do it again. Perhaps I shouldn't have had that burger the other day.

I'm not too worried. I was 204 when I weighed in at MEPS. I am 191 now. Shouldn't be a problem.

You'd think that since we are currently in a war -- and all signs are pointing towards getting into another fight with Iraq -- the Air Force, or the military as a whole, would be jumping at the chance to have a mid-20s, unmarried man wanting to join their flanks.

Important lesson I need to learn: The military utilizes as much logic as I utilize condoms.


Speaking of the whole military/government thing, I have been perminantly added to a list of links on a political blog.

Just call me "Little Rushy."

It's a conservative political blog, which I have no arguments about. I don't really go into politics much on my diary, but I definitely lean to the right.

The Democrats say they are for the "working person." I almost wrote "working man" but that's too politically incorrect. But, being the working guy I am out there doing what working people do best -- working -- I can honestly say that Democrats are no friends of mine. Politically speaking, of course.

It is a simple disagreement I have with their whole platform. I like to work and support myself. They like for me to work so I can support lazy low-lifes.

You know that commercial. The black girl who is standing in the middle of her trash-strewn government project house, looking at the camera saying, "I waws on dee honah rowl and ev'ryting, deen I got praignant."

That's who I work four months out of the year to support when I would much rather be supporting myself. Call me insensitive if you want. But I moved up to Missouri with less than $500. I have never asked my folks for more money.

And I haven't been on welfare once. So, nobody can tell me that they can't find a job. McDonald's is always hiring. So is Wal-Mart. If you can't make ends meet, work at both. When I first moved up here, I had three jobs.

I had to break off a relationship just so I could support myself. And I kick myself for letting that one go. It would have been good.

So, I tend to vote for people who support me keeping more money that I rightfully earned.

And don't get started on socializing healthcare.

Yes. I'm a dirty conservative. Sue me.


So, tonight was the very last night I will get to spend with Spanish-Speaking neighbor.

I feel a little better about it all. I think I will be fine. I will be sad, sure, but I know she will be happy. And I will get to see her if/when I go to tech school in Monterey.

So, all is well in JP-land.

Maybe I am just riding the waive of euphoria created by taking the day off of work. Sick days rawk. I haven't taken one since, well... probably my birthday of last year. I am trying to save up as much leave as possible so I can still get paid for that month I will take off from work before I leave for the Air Force.

I will also need loads of spending money for when I go to England. Hot British chicks and all...


Well, my CD is almost over, and I just realized the date.

My milk expires tomorrow. So, I need to go and guzzle a half gallon of milk. I know what my room is going to smell like tomorrow.

And it ain't roses.

11:01 p.m. - Tues., Aug. 13, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster