mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Welcome to the military, kid.

Wed. 9/11

  • 7:15pm I went to sleep especially early because I knew of my long-ass day ahead of me. MEPS -- Military Entry Processing Station -- was on schedule for Thursday so I could get my eyes examined so I could Aim High and become an Air Force Airman.

  • 8:30pm My landline phone rings. I am glad that I called and ordered a disconnection. Too many people calling late at night, too few roommates (who isn't even supposed to be living here) paying the bill, and my purchase of a cell phone prompted the landline shut-off. I go back to sleep.

  • 8:05pm My cell phone rings. I didn't let it answer because I knew I wouldn't get back to sleep if I did. Instead, I curse the name of the person who was calling.

Thurs., 9/12

  • 1:17am I wake up naturally. Nearly six hours of continuous sleep, and I feel good. I listen to my phone messages, and I found out it was my mom. She went to a 9/11 service and wanted to call and tell me that she loved me. I feel bad for cursing the phone. I put a few CDs in my brand new CD-RW I bought yesterday and made a couple of compilations. I then hopped in the shower, dressed, and got all of my things together.

  • 2:45am I leave the house and go fill up my car in gas. I buy a Gatorade, just in case they want me to pee in the cup again. I also have a soy drink with me. Remind me to tell you that I gave up dairy. It makes me farty.

  • 4:45am I arrive in St. Louis, but I got off on the wrong exit and ended up driving up and down every road I could see. For some reason, St. Louis is a weird nexus of the universe where all roads lead to Busch Stadium, no matter what direction you go. I finally make it to MEPS at 5:10.

  • 5:10am I finally make it to MEPS.

  • 7:30am I go to my designated area to meet for my eye consultation because the MEPS woman said to meet her there at 7:30. When I met her, she said to come back again at 8:15. MEPS is notorius about doing this.

  • 8:15am I go back to the eye consult meeting place, and I am told to sit tight until 8:45 while they get the paperwork sorted out. I end up sitting next to a guy and a girl -- both 18 -- who go on forever about how, like, I dunno... how much they, like, get along better with, you know, like, people of the opposite sex. It's called "heterosexuality" you f'n dipwads. He likes the poon, and she likes to salute to Kaptain Kielbasa. Not too hard to figure out.

  • 9:15am MEPS calls a taxi, and four of us hop in. We get driven around for 10 minutes to our eye doctor. We go in, sign in, and talk excitedly about our plans for the military, our fears, etc.

  • 9:22am The secretary comes out with a smile on her face and pleasantly announces that, "Uh-oh! You guys were scheduled on the wrong day! The doctor's in surgery today and can not take you guys." I think I said something to the effect of, "What the fuck?!?" Someone else said something worse. I realize that the entire trip was a waste of time and (gas) money.

  • 9:25am We get back into another Taxi, as bitchy and defeated as ever. I call my recruiter. He is speachless. All he could say was, "That's b-- b-- BOLONY" Truer words had never been spoken.

  • 10:30am I am treated to a free meal by MEPS. Nothing special since all MEPpers get free meals.

  • 11:02am I leave for home. I get droopy-eyed, so I pull over at a McDonald's for a one-hour nap. I finally get home at 1:30 or so.


That was my day. How was yours?

2:57 p.m. - Thurs., Sept. 12, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster