mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hell Days and Hurricanes

The Everything Good Happened Weekend is bleeding over into the week! Halle-freaking-lujah!

Actually, it was just a small little thing. But it was one of those small little things that makes you feel all warm and fuzzy on the inside and makes you feel not as much like the loser you thought you were.

It all started a week or so ago with my poetry class. It is supposed to be a review of the different types of poetry, differet authors, yada yada yada. It's a lower-level course that I forgot to take. Easy pleasy. But the teacher wants us to write poetry, too. Again, no big whoop.

But then came the time that she wanted us to write sonnets. Me... I'm not a sonnet person. For some reason, getting the ionic pentameter with alternating rhyming schemes going all at the same time is a bit hard.

But, I threw something together. I figured she wasn't wanting Pulitzer Prize-winning material.

But today, she actually called me out of class and told me that she thought my poem was really good and was wondering if she could submit it to my school's literary publication!

I looked at her and said, "You thought that was good?" And, well, you know what she said.

I didn't think it was all that good. But, hey... what do I know? I'm just a senior English student.

So, I gave her my blessing to print it. For all I know, it will be under her name. Oh, well. Most of my poetry -- 99.9% of it -- ends up in my drawer with nobody elses' eyes looking at it. I guard my poetry more than I guard my journal. But, I guess I can make one exception.

So, I just grinned the rest of the class period, thinking of the literary genius I must be. Just call me Walt.


I called home tonight.

My mom, who is a teacher, is up late since school was cancelled tomorrow due to a hurricane that isn't supposed to hit until Thursday.

Man... when I was in school, they waited until the forecast day before they made the decision whether or not to cancel class. We seriously had class one day when a tropical storm came on shore.

I guess a minor class 2 hurricane is a bit different than a tropical storm. But still... They cancelled class the day before it is supposed to hit, if it even hits at all? I'm ashamed to call that place home. Buncha wimps.

Remind me to tell you the story of the time I rode out a hurricane while at a girlfriend's house. She had a swimming pool, and so during the heat of it (it was a small one), we ran out and jumped into the pool.

Whoever said hurricane rain is warm is obviously lying. That pool was so cold, you could have cut glass with my nipples.

I kind of wish I was home for this one. It looks to be a good one. As long as they aren't too terribly destructive, hurricanes are pretty interesting to sit through. When the eye comes over, the sudden drop in air pressure makes everyone go to sleep.

And you haven't lived until you've seen the neighborhood stray cats fly by your front door at 100mph. Also, for a month after the storm, sea gulls continuously fly back from being pushed hundreds of miles inland.

So, yeah. If you ever get a chance to sit through a minor hurricane, I would highly suggest it.


Well, that's it for tonight. Today was Hell Day, and I am pooped.

Especially since I have been up since about midnight last night. I took one of my infamous, ill-advised afternoon "naps" that lasted from about 4:30 to midnight. I couldn't go back to sleep, and just went to work at 4:30.

I've been up for nearly 24 hours.

Oh. One last thing...

I have some major news coming up soon. Very soon. Definitely by the end of the week. Pay close attention. Call yer momandem. They'll be interested.

10:41 p.m. - Tues., Sept. 24, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster