mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Another weekend full of fun and wacky misadventure.

I'm getting spoiled.

It was yet another great weekend full of going to a football game, drinking, eating sushi (sashimi, actually), and not doing tons of homework that is due on Tuesday.

Eh. Who needs an education anyway, right?

You read that right, though. I went to yet another U. of Missouri football game. This has me attending every home football game so far. This is unheard of in JP Land. The last time I have gone to any particular number of football games was when I was in the high school band. I played trombone, for those of you who were interested.

You know... the same trombone that Mandy the Psycho Lesbian Ex stole when she left. Nah. I'm not still bitter. Just making sure you are all keeping up with the facts.

And what makes this all even more important in tracking the Evolution of Moi is that, not only have I been attending the games, but I have been paying attention to the goings on down on the field. And I get up and cheer and clap and do all of the cheers as prompted by the band.

A few are:

...hooray, hoorah, and a bully for old mizzou, rah, rah, rah, rah, mizzou-rah, mizzou-rah, mizzou-rah, TIGERS!

and...

Kick 'em in the left knee, kick 'em in the right knee, kick 'em in the weenie, we need we need a touchdown!

The latter one isn't "official" but I still like it.

This is notable because you may remember the recount of my attending the Sheryl Crow concert a few weeks ago. I didn't enjoy it as thoroughly as I should because I felt like I *had* to stand up and clap. I feel this way at the games, but I enjoy it. Some of you wonder why I call this diary "My Daily Conundrum." This is where the conundrum part comes from.

This game was especially exciting because -- yes, the game was good, but -- I got to actually go down on the field right at the end of the first half. Right as Missouri made their first touchdown not twenty feet in front of me!

I was hoping for someone to run after the ball and get going too fast to stop in time and end up tackling me. I would lay there for a minute feigning an injury (that is, if I wasn't really injured) and finally stand up slowly. This would have ensured that my mug would have been broadcast on the big TV thingie on the end of the field.

But no such luck.

I went down with the band and got to help with the flags, and I also got to stand right behind the dance team, which was most excellent. Especially since the music the band was playing delt with movies like Ben-Hur and Gladiator. The costume for the dance team was a toga. A TOGA! Oh, boy.

After halftime, the game got really good and I screamed and yelled and about lost my voice. So, if I sound a little raspy, that is why.


After the game, some band higher-ups went out to drink. I kind of made some threatening remarks to the effect of "take me or you will be sorry." So, they let me tag along. They are so nice.

We went to this place called Boone Tavern, which is a great place for good food and even better drinks. We sat around and drank, talked, and told jokes that, admittedly, went a little to the left of "crossing the line."

I got a Long Island iced tea, which isn't really tea at all. But since I'm a wimpy kind of guy, I can't handle straight alcohol or anything that tastes like vomit (anything with large amounts of gin), I had to extra-girlasize my drink. Next time you order a Long Island iced tea, ask the 'tender to make it with raspberry vodka. It is delish.

I also had two beers. Bass Ale, honoring my good pal Helen who is British.

Have you ever had three drinks like this at the weight of 214 pounds and then again at 190? It has a significantly different effect on your body when you lose 24 pounds. My lips were starting to get pretty nice and numb, and my eyes were getting dry and red. So, losing weight makes you a cheaper drunk. This should be at the beginning of every diet book.


On Friday, I got the Taiwanese girl whose English I am helping and took her to the TV station where I work. She had never seen a TV station, and she wanted to see what it looked like.

She was surprised at how many different things go on in such a small building. I never really thought about it, but we have about eight or nine different departments each with a full staff in a building about the size of two average-sized McDonald's's's's.

After I gave her the grand tour, we went to a sushi restaurant. I had been craving it, and she didn't really have a say. And if she did, I could have just said that I couldn't understand her. So, Osaka's it was.

I had sashimi -- the actual raw stuff -- and tempura, which is, as the owner described to me, "difflent flied things."

Mmmmmm.

My sashimi ended up being swordfish, tuna, and some other fish I couldn't figure out. The different fried things included a shrimp, some potatoes, and a vegetable mix. I also got rice and a bean sprout salad.

I couldn't eat it all. It was so darned tasty and really filling. I love, love, love sashimi. I told my mom that when I come down, I was going to take her to eat some sushi.

Long story short, we won't be going for sushi.

But Taiwanese Girl had sushi and teriyaki fish. She didn't know what kind of fish it was, and I told her it looked like salmon, but she didn't understand.

So, she pulled out her Chinese translator and typed it in and said something like, "Ah, yes. Das eeet." Then, she tried to pronouce it. Which she did a decent job.

Then, she asked a question that was a bit awkward to answer. Especially since we were in a respectable restaurant that had a respectable amount of class about it. That, and she asked her question rather loudly.

"Is that pronounced like SEMEN?"

Yes, I am dead serious. What made it worse is that she didn't know what she just asked. After quieting her down, I then had to explain to her what that was.

Boy, was my face red.


Remember a few weeks ago when I told all of yas to be extra careful on the roads due to an unusual amount of car wrecks that were happening around me?

Well, it happened again.

Let me preface this by mentioning that my dad has a slab of commercial property on which he has built three buildings and rents to people for their different businesses. One of these is a coffee shop that sells pretty yummy lunches.

The coffee shop business faces the "lower part" of a T intersection.

Well, on Friday, some old guy doped up on a bunch of heart medicine or something started waaaaaayyyyy back on that lower part and thought he was pressing the brake. He pressed and pressed until his brake had him flying down the road at 50 MPH. He went straight through the intersection, hit the curb, and Dukes of Hazzarded the curb, flying his car straight through my dad's building.

Luckily, the lunch rush was over and the only people in there eating were in the perfect place to not get hurt. The old man even survived, though I doubt he will be driving much any more. Other than that, my dad now has now what can best be described as a covered bridge.

Then, to top it off, while Pop was on the phone with his insurance agent, the agent gasped when the aforementioned car FELL OFF OF THE TOW TRUCK and went skidding by the insurance building!

Man. If it weren't for bad luck lately, my dad wouldn't have any at all.

I've said it before and I'll say it again... Please be careful and don't drive through any restaurants.

9:40 p.m. - Sun., Oct. 6, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster