mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

100 Things to Know About Me

100 Things To Know About JP

  1. My whole name is Jon-Paul Brown. No middle name. Two first names.
  2. My family calls me Paul.
  3. My best guy friend, whom I've known for many years, calls me Jon.
  4. Everyone else generally calls me Jon-Paul or JP. I like both equally.
  5. My biggest pet peeve is when people spell my name incorrectly. There is no "h" in my name. Anywhere.
  6. I was born in Panama City, Florida.
  7. I grew up in Picayune, Mississippi.
  8. I am a Libra, and I was born in the year of the snake.
  9. I do not believe in astrology, though I think it is fun to "dabble."
  10. My biggest dream ever when I was a kid was to become an astronaut.
  11. I got a space flight suit one year for Christmas, and I wore it to school as often as I could.
  12. I had a very, very happy childhood. I consider myself lucky.
  13. I love both of my parents very much.
  14. My mother has taught me how to be patient, how to treat people with class, and the importance of being proud of being Southern.
  15. My father has taught me how to be wise, how not to anger quickly, and how to never cuss in front of children.
  16. I love my sister dearly, though we have absolutely nothing in common. I understand theoretical physics of quarks better than I understand my dear sister.
  17. Growing up, I had a dog named Arthur. He was a shih-tzu, and he was a man's dog. I once told God that I couldn't handle seeing Arthur's death. So, one day, Arthur did what he never ever did: he ran away. In my mind, he is still alive, though in dog years, he is around 180 years old.
  18. I once had a parakeet I named Sweetchuck. He was an evil little bastard, and I hated him. One night, my sister's cat ate him, but I still cried.
  19. I am an Eagle Scout.
  20. I went to two separate high schools: my home town's school and a boarding school for students gifted in math and science.
  21. It was at this school that I realized I didn't want to pursue a career in any math or science related industry.
  22. I am now an English major.
  23. Late fall is my absolute favorite time of year.
  24. I hate summer.
  25. I prefer to be alone.
  26. If I go too long without being able to be alone, I get cranky and generally bla-feeling.
  27. I once lived with a girl for almost two years. Though it ended badly, I don't regret doing it even though my folks keep trying to convince me that I should.
  28. I have consistantly been in love with one specific girl since high school. I don't think she loves me back in the same way.
  29. I have historically had the biggest crushes on girls with some kind of "defect" about them or were in some other way different from the rest of the masses. One of my largest crushes ever, for example, was on a girl with only one arm. Ahh, Samantha.
  30. Almost always, it seems like girls I am attracted to are not attracted to me.
  31. If I do not get married by the age of 31, I will adopt a child. My parents were 31 when they had me, and I feel that is a good age to have kids.
  32. If it comes to that, I would love to adopt a little Asian girl and name her Emma.
  33. One of the most memorable moments of my life was when I helped a mentally retarded man make a simple arts-and-crafts project. He convinced himself -- and almost me -- that he couldn't do it because he was blind. I risked my fingers and held the nail while he hammered. I had never seen someone so happy as that retarded man when he finished the project on his own.
  34. When I was, oh, 10 or 11, I stole a baseball bat from a neighbor's yard. I still regret that and feel bad about it.
  35. I periodically do things for people I know without their knowlege of who did it.
  36. I believe in God.
  37. I went through a period between my junior year of high school and around the middle of my 22nd year of pretty severe depression. I was on medications and therapy. Then, I just kindof came out of it.
  38. Crown Royale and Coke is my favorite drink. Yum yum!
  39. Since I grew up in the land of perpetual summer, I get giddy and call home every time the temperature falls another 10 degrees.
  40. I am such a little kid when it comes to snow.
  41. Don't even get me started about being a kid when it comes to my birthday.
  42. I was born with my tongue attached to the bottom of my mouth. I had to get it clipped just enough so I could talk and eat. When I stick my tongue out, it barely reaces the end of my lips.
  43. I love, love, love to cook. I have some bread rising as I write this.
  44. One thing I could never share my father's interest in was cars, no matter how hard I tried. They all look the same to me.
  45. I wish I knew how to and had the talent for drawing and painting.
  46. I wish I could play the piano.
  47. I wish I could play the violin.
  48. I wish I could play more than the trombone.
  49. I find girls who can play either a piano or violin (or both) completely irresistable.
  50. I have a large map on my wall on which I keep track of everywhere I have driven since I bought the map.
  51. I also thumbtack every post card anyone has ever mailed me.
  52. I was a radio DJ for four or five years. I enjoyed it enough, but I was glad to be done with it. The "higher ups" stifled my creative freedoms...
  53. It takes a lot for me to trust someone. If that trust is ever broken, I almost never give second chances.
  54. I've found that I am a huge fan of Woody Allen. I love his synical and self-deprecating sense of humor and the points-of-view of his films. The best movie of his I have seen is "Zelig."
  55. I'm not one of those people who will say that they "like every type of music." I am, in fact, quite picky when it comes to music.
  56. I am cautious around people who: gossip, brag about their ability to say whatever to whomever, and dislikes kids and animals.
  57. Whenever I see a spider in my house, I let it go about its own business. If I need it gone, I gently scoop it up with a piece of paper and release it outside.
  58. I eat baker's chocolate. It is so deliciously bitter.
  59. I like the darkest roasts of coffee. I think I just have a knack for bitter things. And tart things. Out of all of the citizens in the World of Pie, I love rhubarb and gooseberry pies the most.
  60. I enjoy hot tea. Earl Grey and Chinese Gunpowder are my favorites.
  61. I hardly ever have nightmares. I can only remember two that I have ever had.
  62. Probably at least three times a week, I have dreams where I am flying.
  63. You know those dreams where you fall off of a cliff and wake up just as you hit the ground? Well, I never wake up. In my dreams, I am usually pushed back up the cliff and fall again. They are usually quite exciting.
  64. Though I am not a registered Republican, I almost always vote conservatively.
  65. One of these days, I plan on running for mayor. That will be the extent of my political career.
  66. Usually without exception I always cheer for the underdog in anything. They don't always win, but when they do it is much more exciting.
  67. As a generality, I pretty much dislike sports, though seeing games in person is really a lot of fun. I have never enjoyed basketball, live or otherwise.
  68. When I turned 10, I had a combination birthday party and an extended family reunion on my mom's side. Everyone bought me sports books and other sports paraphernalia. I've had better birthdays.
  69. I like it when girls are brave and bold enough to ask me out on a date. I pretty much always accept.
  70. I don't like public displays of affection. I don't even like to hold hands while walking through the store. My mom said that the right girl will change my mind.
  71. Oh, back to music. I would have to say my favorite genre of music is folk. This includes: Jewel, Alison Krauss, Sarah Kaplanski, Leon Redbone, James Taylor, Bob Dylan, Kevin Welch, among others. My favorite rocker of all time is Tom Petty. Norah Jones is just beautiful in every aspect you could imagine.
  72. There are two classes of people: Elvis lovers and Beatles lovers. I am the latter.
  73. I have never seen "Gone With the Wind," an entire episode of "I Love Lucy," "24," or "West Wing."
  74. The only Steven King novel I have ever read cover-to-cover is "It." I've read his novellas, "Apt Pupil" and "The Body."
  75. My favorite all-time author is William Least Heat-Moon, followed by E.B. White.
  76. It has always been my goal, since second grade, to write a book.
  77. For three years, I had a subscription to Playboy. And yes, I got it for the articles. I had the internet during these years, so getting it for nudity would have been pointless.
  78. I prefer Victoria's Secret catelogues to Playboy when it comes to looking at scantily-clad women.
  79. I consider myself a better-than-average poet. But I don't let many people read my poems.
  80. I used to be pretty careless in how I kept my place up. I've become quite the Mr. Tidy in my later years.
  81. I like fresh mint in my iced tea.
  82. I like my mint julips made with vodka instead of the usual whisky.
  83. When I take a girl out, and I open up her car door, I feel slightly insulted and shafted when she stretches all the way across the car to unlock my door.
  84. I feel guilty when I take sick days off of work and I am not sick. I still do it, but I feel guilty about it.
  85. I had my wisdom teeth removed when I was 19. One of them developed a dry socket, and it was the few times I have ever cried from pain (in my adult life).
  86. I've gotten stitches twice: once when I dropped a machete on my foot when I was 4, and once when I stepped off of a bed and onto a play farm set.
  87. I broke my arm when I was in kindergarten. I jumped out of a swing and landed on my right arm, breaking it just below the elbow.
  88. I stepped on a nail when I was five. I received a tetanus shot. That was the very last immunization I ever received before going into the military at age 25. I forged the signature on the required college immunization record.
  89. I have two tattoos. I don't regret either one.
  90. I still have a doll that I had as a little kid. His name is Billy, and he is currently sitting on top of my bookshelf.
  91. I have kept every creative thing I have done, no matter how good or small. I plan on giving all of my journals and creative things to my kids when they get to an appropriate age.
  92. My favorite long word is antidisestablishmentarianism.
  93. I like to gamble.
  94. If you want to get me to do something, tell me what to do but leave me alone after that. It will get done in the best way I see fit. If you tell me how to do it and stand around making sure I do it your way, I will refuse to do it. I fear this will give me problems when I join the Air Force.
  95. I used to prefer sunrises before sunsets. But since I have been working the morning shift at work for nearly two years, I now prefer sunsets.
  96. I like a good cigar. I love a good pipe.
  97. I will eat anything at least once.
  98. The only vegetable I really despise in squash. It is a vile weed.
  99. When it comes to sports or games, I don't mind being the loser. In fact, if I know someone will take losing badly, I will lose on purpose.
  100. Wheat bread: yes. White bread: no.

< ? 100 Things # >

10:40 p.m. - Mon., Oct. 7, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster