mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

FIVE more days!!!

I'm regressing back to my awkward junior-high years.

It started out with a little bump on my forehead. Then, two bumps on my chin. Now, I look a lot like Pizza the Hut from that Spaceballs movie.

So, pack me a PB&J sandwich and let's listen to N'Sync on the way to school because I'm 13 again.

And it is just a few days before my birthday, too. Everyone is now going to think twice about giving me some smooches for my birthday. Looks like they'll have to spank me instead.

Oh. Darn.

Speaking of my birthday, I have made shopping for me a whole lot easier by the creation of an easy-to-buy wishlist from Amazon.com. But, you don't have to order things from Amazon.com if you don't want.

You can just go to Wal-Mart and pick them up and hand-deliver them to me. Or, if you have a paypal account, I'll also take birthday gifts in the form of money. Just as long as you get them to me.

I joke and kid, of course. But if you *do* want to see what I want, go look. Oh, and ignore the Tom Petty album. I bought that yesterday.


So, Hell Day didn't happen yesterday.

I had two major assignments due last night, and I had barely touched either one. So, I slept in until about 9:00, when the public library opened, then I headed to get some bagels and coffee, and then over to the new library.

I tell you what, our new public library here in Columbia looks from the outside like they built it out of lumber milled from ugly trees. You know... from which ugly sticks come -- the same sticks Barbara Steisand has been ravagely beaten with.

But the inside of the library rawks my socks. There are three floors, and on the third floor are tons of private study rooms with desks lighted by lamps, dry-erase boards, and plenty of electric outlets. The chairs are big and comfy, and the desk is roomy.

So, I went in at around 10:30 yesterday morning, set up my laptop, went down and checked out some CDs and listened to them while I wrote a five-page paper explicating a poem by Amy Clampitt.

Sounds exciting, don't it? That's why I be an English major.

Then, for the English lit class that I absolutely despise, I had to write a syllabus for a "rhetorical" class in Renaissance liturature that the school is offering next semester. I must say that I love the subject matter we are studying, but the teacher absolutely sucks ducks. She appears like she lost a bet and her punishment was teaching this class.

Anyway, after writing the syllabus, we had to write an essay explaining why we chose each specific text. That essay took about five pages to write. Then we had to explicate any Renaissance poem.

I chose Shakespeare's sonnet 127.

If you would like to read any of these papers, email me and I will send them to you. Hell, I don't even care if you use them in your own class.


So, I am taking a break today. Tomorrow, I am going back to the library and will work on another paper that is due next week. No, I am not excited, but thanks for asking.

Today, I need to go to the store. I am eating cans of baked beans. Which, frankly, I feel I should be eating better.

I actually made a loaf of bread on Monday that is the best yet. So, I will be eating toast for lunch before I go to the store.

And since this diary entry sucks goat balls, I will sign off.

2:34 p.m. - Wed., Oct. 9, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster