mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Happy Birthday," said my ass.

I know at writing this it isn't officially my birthday. But since most of you won't read this until tomorrow...

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!!!!

Yay! I am 25 years old. I can get cheap insurance. I can rent cars without paying any large fees. I think I can run for some kind of higher public office. You know... if I wanted to.

I had a great, wonderful birthday weekend so far. I spent hours on Saturday trying to find someone to work for me on Sunday. My very last contact said he would think about it and would call me back. Two and a half hours later, I finally called him back because my ride to St. Louis was waiting. He would do it, "only because it was my birthday." I grovelled and thanked him profusely.

Angela the Hugger and Martha "Helen" Stewart (I call her that for her extremely fancy handy work and not for other reasons we won't talk about) came and picked me up and we headed due east towards Oz.

Ok. St. Louis. But I can call it Oz because why? It's my birthday, that's why.

We got to the very swank hotel at around 7:00 or so, and we ooo'd and ahhh'd over the 2-room suite we would be sharing with La Ti�a. It was, as kids call it these days, "da shit."

Both of the rooms looked right out onto the St. Louis Arch. There were THREE bathrooms, comfy-as-the-shit chairs and bed, nice furniture, and windows that went from the floor to the ceiling. Since the Arch is well-lit at night, this made for a most remarkable lodging experience.

We all got dressed in our nice going-out clothes. I wore a little do-up I bought at Eddie Bauer, and the girls all wore party clothes that pushed up these things and "cupped" those things. They were lookin' good.

While they were finishing up their pushing and cupping, one of the guys and I went down to the hotel bar for a drink and a cigar smoke. $5.50 for one drink later, we were on our way to dinner.

We went to a place called Jake's Steaks, which had pictures of naked triangle people with no genitalia donning the walls. The only reason I remember that is when you've had a few beers, you tend to ponder where the "goods" went.

I ended up getting a 7 oz. K.C. Strip topped with blue cheese. If you've never had a steak with blue cheese on top, give it a try. It's dead tasty.

We then went and played pool. I got my ass kicked by everyone. We won't talk about that.

At around midnight or so, we walked back to the swankness of a hotel but took a detour near the arch. Surprisingly, we didn't get mugged or killed. But thanks for worrying.

After changing into pajamas, we had a big pillow fight in which all of the girls' clothes came flying off and there was nudity EVERYWHERE, man! Boobs and pillowcases were flying left and right.

But the truth was, we sat up chatting for a whole 30 minutes or so. We older people just can't stay up and par-tay like you younger folk. I dozed on and off while listening to others. I wish it happened like I said above, but no luck.

When it was time to turn in for the night, I being the only guy decided to sleep on the floor since all of the bed space was taken. Me being the gentleman, I didn't push the ladies off of the bed because, frankly, I think I have them fooled and they are all accepting me. That would just make them mad.

I set up my blanket and pillow by that big window I told you about earlier and stayed awake for another ten minutes just watching the goings-on twenty-six stories above the Mississippi River.

There are times in your life when everything prior seems to have all been a precurser to bring you to where you are right now. I got that feeling last night while looking down at the arch and the river, thinking how lucky I have been.


Did I mention that looking through the arch down into the Mississippi means looking due east?

I didn't think of that until about 7:00 when the bright sun woke me out of an incredible dream that involed Norah Jones and a reubin sandwich. Yeah... don't ask.

But I rolled over and it was all good for another two hours until I awoke to Angela the Hugger clamped down on me like an octopus to an oyster. It was time to wake up.

We got dressed, and headed out at around 10:30 or so.

We stopped about half-way home at an outlet mall. One of the stores there has a Target outlet. They had summer shirts -- nice ones, mind you -- for $2.50 apiece. I bought a whole bunch of 'em. I also bought a pair of jeans, a sweater (for $7.50), a "performance fleece" that is so popular in those commercials (Old Navy, Old Navy, Old Navy performance fleece). That was only $12.

So, I made a few deals.


And now, I am home. And my body is celebrating my birthday by bringing back an old foe.

I won't come right out and say what it is because, frankly, it is a whole lot of embarrasing. I had it baaaaad when I was in high school.

I'll give you a few hints:

It hurts. It's in/on your ass. It makes you walk funny. And it starts with an 'H'.

So, I took me a nice long, hot bath. And I am drinking water like it was going out of style. If I hadn't have taken so many sick days as of late, I would call in sick tomorrow.

So, yeah......

Helluva birthday present for me. Too much information for you. Good excuse to end an entry.

10:57 p.m. - Sun., Oct. 13, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster