mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My birthday was a success!

Well, it has been a fantastic birthday. Probably the best birthday weekend and birthday I have had in a long, long time. I would write down all of the memorable previous birthdays I've had, but that would just spoil the moment.

I'll tell you this, though. I have eaten probably twice my body weight since Friday night. My new pair of Old Navy jeans I got over the weekend are doing all they can to handle my big belly, bloated from steak and chocolate.

I haven't mentioned it on here yet, but I am going home next week, leaving Saturday evening. If there is anything I do to my weight when I go home, I end up raising it quite a good percent. I tell ya... Red meat flows in the South like milk and honey.


But yeah... I am flying home Saturday evening. After getting up at 5:00, working until 11:00 at which time I will leave early and go to my first official DEP (Delayed Entry Program) meeting for the Air Force, and then head out of Columbia at around 1:00 to catch a flight at 5:00.

How's that for a long-ass sentence?

I had a week off from school, so I figured I would take a week off and visit the family. I figured I would see my dad's wrecked store and fence from all of the people driving through his stuff.

My mom's birthday is on the 25th, and so I will be down for that as well. I am horrible at buying presents for the motherly unit, so if any of you have any suggestions, I am all ears.

She keeps saying, "Well, having you home for my birthday is a good enough of a gift for me."

My response to that: Bull-dankifer.

I know good and goshdern well that as soon as I showed up on the 25th without a present, my infinitely loving mother would lay down a guilt trip so thick as to put the Exxon Valdez to shame.

If giving guilt trips were an Olympic sport, the other competition would pass by the wayside when they got wind they would be going against my well-meaning mother. If she were ever mugged, by the time my mom was through with the robber, he would be crying and asking God for forgiveness.

It's lethal, man.

So... I need a good idea for a present. I was thinking of making a book of all of my poetry. But, like I said in my 100 things list, I keep my poems pretty private. I dunno... maybe that would make it more meaningful.


Well, I need to get my full belly into bed. I have Hell Day tomorrow. It's the last Hell Day of the quarter, though. Yay. No more early English literature with the least interesting teacher in the world.

Here is a direct quote from reading some piece that I have already forgotten. The piece doesn't matter, it is what she said that I found to be so incredulous.

As you read down to the second paragraph, you are interested in the fact that bla bla bla And as you get down to the fourth paragraph, you were surprised and full of wonder as bla bla bla

Thanks, teach. You make it so much easier now that I don't even have to think about being surprised and interested.

This is why I hate this class.

10:44 p.m. - Mon., Oct. 14, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster