mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More Louisiana references than you can shake a stick at

I bet you forgot, didncha?

I flew home to Mississippi yesterday. Well, actually, I flew in to New Orleans, got asked by a dozen bums if I "had a quatah" (quarter), drove for forty-five minutes, and am finally in Mississippi. This was after going to work at 5am, an Air Force meeting at 11, and doing final runnings around until I left for Kansas City.

And after packing and cleaning until 3am the previous morning. Needless to say, I was more tired than a New Orleans prostitute during the final days of Mardi Gras.

Home is fine. Hot as hellblazes. I was just getting back to where I could wear short sleeves in Missouri's "low-50s" days. Put me back where it is in the 80s and the humidty is in the 90% range, and I begin to sympathize with the polar bears at the Audubon Zoo.

But I am well rested. I am going to go see the Mississippi Sea Wolves hockey game tonight. We are playing Louisiana. If memory serves me right, the Sea Wolves and Louisiana really get into a lot of fights. So, it should be an action-packed evening.


I always find it fun when, after getting off of the airplane and start the road home, I look at all of the local names for towns and streets. I remember how the real Cajun-sounding people who populate much of this area pronounce them. It always defies the logic of this English major.

But I love it. I love this area of the country just because it is so rich in regional differences. Where else can you find:

Michaud Boulevard? (Pronouced Mashow. Don't ask me to write out how they pronouce boulevard down here. I can say it, I just can't write it.)

Chalmette (a town. pronounced "Shal-met")

Lafayette (another town. Pronounced laugh-YET)

In Mississippi, we have Pass Christian (Chris-chee-ANN)

What's funny is, once you leave Louisiana, all of the French pronounciation rules leave. A small town just north of my town -- which is located not 3 miles from the Louisiana border -- is called Carriere. When Louisiana folks come over, they pronounce it Carry-ay. But we Mississippi folk pronounce it Cair-rear.


I can't write too much right now since I slept late and I need to make some arrangements to go see my poppa.

I would like to thank the bunches of ya who wrote in concerning my surgery. I feel much better now. Remind me later to write about how my surgery ended up being a class lesson.

I'll leave you with this little bit of advice: When having any type of humiliating surgery, never -- if ever -- go to a teaching hospital.

12:11 p.m. - Sun., Oct. 20, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster