mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Great fun with technological wonders

Whew! Voting is over. Done.

Shame on you and you for not voting. Booo. Hisss.

Ok. I still love ya if you didn't vote. But, well... you should have.

I was voter number 578. I asked which one I was, and they told me. I asked them in a joking manner, with a smile on my face that says, "I'm just asking to be a joking little smartass and to make you smile back because you look like you are about to fall out of your chair out of boredom," but then, without a blink, she looked at her books and said I was number 578.

God bless our pollsters.

If this election has taught you anything, though, it should be that pre-election polls don't account for jack shit.

I always think it is kind of humorous when they insist on putting up a poll that says "Candidate One has 45% and Candidate Two has 48%. The margin of error is +/- 5%."

Do you understand the math involved here? Because of the margin of error, Candidate One could have 50% and Candidate Two could have 43%.

To me, polls only tell me something if one person has, like 82% and another has 18%. Kind-of if a Republican or Democrat is running against the Poop Scoopin' Party.

I'm just glad it is all over. I voted. Some of my people won, some didn't. Ya live, ya lose.

One thing that did irk me, though, was the fact that, on the ballot I voted on yesterday, we had 15 different positions to fill: US Senate, District 25 State House, etc. Out of those 15 positions, NINE of them were being run unopposed.

You know... kind of like how Saddam Hussein ran in his latest election.

So, the way I see it, 60% of our elected officials are not much better than Saddam when it comes to elections.

And then, if you compare numbers, you will see that around 60% of the population didn't vote yesterday. Hmmm. Correlation?

Prolly not. But don't you like how this entry so far has gone full-circle?


I found a kewl new game using that nifty search engine called Google.

You know, the search engine where you can search for websites that have phrases like sex with a donky while Elvis watches and actually get a list of websites that are about that very topic.

What is neat is that, when you have a way to see what searches people did to find their way onto your website, you can make fun of them.

A few of mine from just recently are:

  • Pictures of butternut squash
  • Naked Chef come to my world
  • wet toilet paper
  • my naked mom

I don't know where that last one came about. But you can bet that I will now be getting hundreds more hits since that phrase is now obviously in my files twice.

But the fun google game that I have found is called "[Your Name] Is." In my case, for instance, it would be called "Jon-Paul is."

Here is how it works. You put the name of the game into google's search engine (parenthesis included) and then write out the funny sentenses that come out as a result. Let's look at mine, shall we?

  • Jon-Paul is still growing and is now 6'3".
  • Jon-Paul is thrilled to have been asked to present a center stage hairstyle spectacular at the Hairdressers ABA Show in Winnipeg.
  • Jon-Paul is a recent graduate of Emory University.
  • Jon-Paul is afraid of vaginas, but only because he fears that which he does not understand. (amen to that!)
  • Jon-Paul is a painter, photographer, Musician, currently living in Korea.
  • Jon-Paul is a Scottish exchange student from the University of St. Andrews.
  • Jon-Paul is just the greediest person I've ever met.
  • Jon-Paul is a sophomore at Jesuit College Preparatory High School in Dallas.
  • Jon-Paul is the guy who has done all the work.
  • Jon-Paul is correct in his Hanson-free assessment. (again, I totally agree!)
  • Jon-Paul is not a brat, he's our friend! And I'm not DATING him!
  • Oh, what great fun! I suggest you do the same. In having fun, though, I ran across a website that talked about a guy, let's call him Jon-Paul, who was killed while playing on a pile of industrial sand. You know... those big mountains of sand outside large construction sites. I guess the sand settled weird and just sucked him in.

    Let that be a lesson to you kiddos. Especially if your name is Jon-Paul.


    I'm outta here. I need a haircut before a big wedding this weekend. Unfortunately, it isn't my wedding. But, then again, I'm not exactly in the "let's get married" stage in my life right now.

    9:57 a.m. - Wed., Nov. 6, 2002

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster