mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As usual, a busy weekend to write about.

A little factoid: On average, it takes a full hour for me to do one of these here diary entries.

I usually spend the most amount of time, as you can probably guess, by actually writing all of my thoughts down. But, as you notice on many of my entries, I also include a lot of links, and it usually takes a while to find the right websites and image links.

After writing and pressing the little "Submit" button, I go back and read -- and then re-read -- the entire entry so I can find all of the typos and misspellings, all of awkward sentences, and all of the broken links. This phase usually includes many visits to Merriam-Webster Online.

I'm an English major, but I can't spell worth shit. It's hereditary. Ask my mom to spell shirt and she will undoubtedly leave out the r. It's funny as all hell. Great for Christmas parties and bar mitzvas.

Yeah, yeah. I know...

So, after I do all of the editing and link-checking and finally declare the diary "DONE!" then I look at the clock. Almost always, an hour has passed.

I'm not saying all of this as to complete the "writing an entry about writing an entry" clich�. I'm mentioning it because, when it is 9:40 at night and I am pooped, I sometimes don't feel like spending another whole hour staying awake just to write.

But alas. My readership has risen dramatically over the past month or so. My hard work is starting to pay off. And, well... gosh. I love you guys.

Group hug!


I am continuing to revamp all of the links that are there on your left. If you remember from the other day, I started doing a little house cleaning. Well, I did some more last night.

As you look in the "blue" upper frame, you will notice that I included a link called An image gallery for your viewing pleasure. This is a link to, well, an image gallery featuring ME!

That way, if you are really needing to get a quick JP fix, and you are in some kind of bad, then you can just click there and see my beautiful mug plastered over 9 pages of images.

Also, if you pass the "green" part, you will see in the "red" section that I have deleted all of the Diaryland people who I read. If you want to see which Diaryland people I read regularly, go to my profile and look there.

In their place, I put a link to my stories page which I transferred to Diaryland. My latest story is up, called UFC #103. The idea for the story came from classroom discussions of my work. I have a terrible habit of killing off at least one of my main characters. Sometimes more.

So, read it. Tell me what you think. Send me dirty thoughts. You know, the usual.

Also over there is a link to one of my favorite internet comic strips. It's all about a little girl and a pig. I am constantly amazed at how much humor you can get in only four frames. My favorite one is this one. Cracks me up every time I read it.


Man. I just realized...

This diary could easily be brought up in a psychology course as a study in narcissism.


So, have you been sitting on the edge of your seat in anticipation about whether or not I got the new car?

By the way, with the recent onslaught of new readers, you should know that I don't update on weekends. I didn't leave yall as soon as you started reading. I'm lazy. Weekends are for sleep.

Anyway, so I went Friday afternoon and did some conjoling. As we have established, my credit history isn't the best in the world, though it is better than it was when I was 21. A lesson to you kiddos: pay off your f'n credit cards. And if you can't afford going to fancy restaurants, then don't go.

After sitting in the office all day -- I say all day, but what I really mean is two hours -- I finally get a call from the financing guy. They are going to cut me a deal.

So, I must toss out a special shout-out to all of yas out there for keeping your fingers crossed for me. Not only did all of your collective well wishing cause me to get a new car, but you got me one at the unbelievable interest rate of 4.25%.

You kick ass!

Anyway, I guess you are wanting to see pictures of the new car, right? Unfortunately, on Saturday, it was about 35 degrees out when I was taking pictures. Ain't no way in Sam hell was I going to strip down to my undies and run around my car just for a picture.

So, you'll have to wait for that.

But, here it is in front of Columbia's most notable landmark. I also drove it out to a nice conservation area to get some "country" shots.

So... can you think of a name for the new car? I might as well have a name penned by some of you since I spend as much time writing these derned entries as I will sitting in the car.

So, start naming away.


Ok. It is 10:37. See? An hour.

I'm off.

9:39 p.m. - Sun., Nov. 17, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster