mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More holiday rants and a bit about movies

Ever find yourself writing dates on checks or forms, and after writing the date you realize you wrote down the wrong date... by over four months?

I seem to do that all of the time. It's the middle of November, and I end up writing something like "3/12/02." My brain is atrophying or something. I'm going nucking futs.


My Thanksgiving plans are shaping up to be quite nice. I wasn't completely sure what I would be doing until last night. But Best Friend Lisa called, and it looks like I will be heading to Indiana next week.

Which may be bad for all of you because she doesn't have an internet connection. Which means no update for about three or four days. But, hopefully, I will have a lot to write about.

I will be in control of cooking Thanksgiving dinner, even though Lisa won't be around for the whole day. She works at some kind of nut house for really psycho kids -- the kinds that can no longer live at home. It's a 24/7 hospital, and so she has to work various holidays. Including Thanksgiving.

But this is great. Most of you already know that I pretty much dislike 80% of holidays. I hate feeling pressured to feel happy. I especially hate feeling pressured by constant, endless commercialization to be happy. This is why I love Thanksgiving.

Nobody gives gifts for Thanksgiving. Nobody feels the need to push you to "remember the reason for the season." The most commercialized the holiday gets is the rows upon rows of frozen turkeys at the market.

There is the misinformation that goes around about how loverly and googly-eyed the Pilgrims were and how the Indians showed up for dinner wearing nothing but loin cloths and saying "HOW!" which, in my opinion, is a bit lacking in table etiquette. Then Hallmark shows its ugly face, but that is to be expected.

But, as a whole, most of the world sees Thanksgiving as just the day before the official start to Christmas. It is when football games are being played, watched by thousands and thousands of husbands who told the wife that they would be going for some cranberry sauce and would be back "in a minute," yet they somehow end up on national television with their faces and hairy stomachs painted in their respective teams' colors.

Thanksgiving is one of the very last holidays that you can honestly create your very own holiday traditions and not be considered wierd for doing them.

For instance, my Thanksgiving tradition is going to my Granny's house in Florida. We wake up to the sound of fresh oysters being dumped into one of the crispers in the fridge. We shuck a whole bunch of them, eat our morning fill, and send the rest to Granny to make biscuits and white oyster gravy.

We then spend the rest of the day walking down the beach, fixing random things around her house, taking naps, going down to the road to a bar and getting a bit tipsy.

(except that last one, but I have always wanted to do that)

Then we have a huge feast full of seafood and turkey. After cleaning the kitchen, we play Yahtzee, Skipbo, rummie, and whatever else comes to mind until our eyes can barely stay open.

That, my friends, is a perfect day to me.

But since I can't go home this Thanksgiving, I will be going to visit one of my most lovely, dearest friends. Hopefully, this will be the first Thanksgiving of many we spend together.

I also plan on cooking her a whole bunch of food to freeze. Poor girl goes to bed eating peanut butter and jelly. By the time I get done with this visit, she'll be eating spaghetti bolognese as a snack!


I got insurance for my new car today, and it isn't as bad as I had originally thought it would be. Only $65 each month.

Looks like I will soon be putting up a Paypal link so all of you could donate to my car fund.

Or, if you want to send me naked or bra pics, I'll settle for that as well. But, you know... only if you don't want to send me a couple of bucks instead. One or the other. Either way.


Well, I am running out of things to talk about. As you can tell, Mondays and Tuesdays are pretty boring in JP-Land.

Oh! I got a couple of tickets to go see Narc, a movie that is being released in February. They are having a special sneak preview on Thursday, and I got access through work.

It totally doesn't look like my kind of movie. I watched the trailer online, and I may end up dozing off. But, it is a chance to see a movie for free. And, it is a chance to see a movie that you won't even see until February. That way, I'll have a one-up on you. Ha!

And speaking of movies, I am sooo not excited about James Bond.

Never been a Bond fan. I end up getting so confused that I fall asleep and wake up when everyone starts filing out of the place.

I'm not into guy movies at all. But I don't like chick-flicks, either. The words "romantic comedy" send shivers down my spine. I'm as picky about my movies as I am the music I listen to.

Though I did see Harry Potter last Friday night at the 8:00 showing. We bought tickets a solid week before it was released, so we were sure to get decent seats. I really enjoyed it -- much better than the first one.


Ok. I'm done.

I hope you woke up early enough to watch the meteor shower. I wake up early enough anyway. Keep your fingers crossed that no meteors hit my car.

I don't think that is covered in my new insurance plan.

11:33 p.m. - Mon., Nov. 18, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster