mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My last entry for the rest of the week (Turkey and dressing calls)

Know what tomorrow is?

Besides Thanksgiving eve, of course. And besides just being November 27. It is, indeed, these two things. But it is also the day that marks six months until I fly off into the wild blue yonder.

If you are new to my diary, you must know that I am dumping Mid-Missouri in May so that I can join the Air Force and go into a field that has nothing to do with my college degree. I'll be a meteorologist. At least up until I go to officer training school.

I can't wait to get into a uniform. Chicks'll dig me.

So, yeah. Six months from right now (10pm), I will probably be drunker than a skunk. That's what you do before you lose your freedom.


I probably won't write much tonight. I am getting up tomorrow morning at around 5am and will head east to the great state of Indiana.

When I say "great," I mean, "state that has more corn than I would have normally thought possible." It is rediculous how much corn is in that state. I've heard Tony the Tiger messes his pants every time he drives through.

But anyway, I am driving there pretty early so I can catch Best Friend Lisa before she goes in to work. This will be the first time I've seen her since February or March. I miss my little half-Asian delight. She is truly the most beautiful girl I have ever met.

We met when we were both going to that boarding school in Mississippi. She was a senior, and I was a junior.

Every year, the juniors put on a talent show for the seniors so that each junior can be made fun of and beat up. Another good friend of mine (Ryan Paterson. Have you seen him? If so, tell him to email me) and I decided to do a two-man juggling act that got a pretty good reception. After the juggling act, I was headed back to my dorm when Lisa stopped me.

"That was a pretty good juggling act," she said.
"Thanks," I replied with a warm smile, hoping to ward off the ass-beating I was betting on.
"You'll have to teach me how to juggle sometime," she said.
"Great!" I replied. "Wanna hold my balls?"

I think she spit coke out of her nose. But we were best friends ever since. She saw me through a bad case of hemorrhoids. I saw her through extremely bad cramps, going to the doctor's office only to watch her carry a pee sample.

We have that kind of relationship.

So, this year, I will be giving thanks with one of my all-time best friends ever.


Did you catch the season opener for the Osbournes? TiVo caught it for me, but I haven't yet looked to see how good the premiere was.

There is a lot of controversy about the show. Mainly, the negative opinions for the show come from the more conservative religious sector. And some comes from the psychological sector as well. But of course, I have my own opinion.

I come from a dysfuntional family. But according to the latest numbers, I am in the majority as far as broken-up families are concerned. If you knew half of how messed up things were at one time, you would probably go and break up your own relationships.

So, coming from that point of view, I can only like how the Osbournes keep their family dynamic.

There is a dad who is an alcoholic and an ex-druggie. He's had so many brain cells killed off that he can barely talk. Mom is the head of the family. The two kids curse like sailors, have certain emotional issues, and beat each other to a bloody pulp. And, they have a veritable petting zoo for their house pets.

Now what I especially like is, even though this family is so very untraditional, they still take all of these things that would normally be considered fatal flaws in the familial structure and they make it work.

Taking things that normally go against you and making them workfor you is, in my opinion, the fundamental foundation of a healthy family dynamic.

60%+ of families don't do that. They take the easy road.


Well, that's my soapbox for the year.

I need to go so I can puree some cranberry sauce I was making while writing this diary. It smells damn tasty. I can't wait to eat it.

I also need to pack, burn some CDs, take a shower, take out my contacts.....

Oh, jeez. It'll be Thursday before I even get a chance to leave.

Have a happy Thanksgiving, yall.

9:52 p.m. - Tues., Nov. 26, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster