mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Movies, sex, and drugs. All except the last two.

I must quit taking Sunday afternoon naps.

Here it is midnight, and I am not the slight bit tired, thanks to a four-hour nap that I took when I got home from work and shopping. I didn't plan on going shopping, but the TV station received special "By Invitation Only Sale" vouchers for American Eagle Outfitters, and so I felt I had better go and thank them personally for giving us sale vouchers.

I ended up thanking them with a $50 dent in my bank account. But, in return, they let me keep a nice sweater, two really nice pairs of boxers, and a gift for Best Friend Lisa who maaaaay still read this here diary, so I won't divulge what it is.

I doubt she does. But she may. So... sucks to be you, don't it.

I'll get pictures of my boxers up very soon. *wink wink* *nudge nudge*


I received many well-wished emails from all of you fantastic people out there who read my diary. You all hoped that the black cloud of writer's block would lift and all would be well again.

Well, as of the instant I woke up on Friday morning, my writer's block has officially been cured. Not only have I conceived of and written one complete story, I have three other ideas just waiting to be written down. I plan on combining all of my short stories into a book and giving it to family as gifts. Last July, I finally printed out my Chicago travelogue and gave it to the family. They all loved it. So, I am thinking that they would like some fiction to go with their travel.

And then, today at work, I got to thinking about how my days in Missouri are numbered. I thought to myself, I thought "Self..." That's what I call myself. I thought, "Self, I should sit down and write an autobiographical account of the adventure that has been the past five years in Missouri."

Let's get this in perspective, shall we?

When I wrote that Chicago travelogue, I was in Chicago for five days, and the travelogue ended up being 36 pages long, typed, single space. That's over seven pages per day.

I've been in Missouri for nearly five years. Well... four and a half years. If my Missouri autobiography followed the same pattern as my Chicago travelogue, that would be 12,775 pages.

As Harry Caray put it best: "Holy cow!"

Now, realistically speaking, I know it wouldn't be that long. But it would still be a long project. I would have to actually do interviews and research. I would have to talk to people I would rather not talk to. I would have to risk getting my car egged again.

But I think it is doable. Ideally, I would like to get it done before I leave for the Air Force. It's a dream. It's just... overwhelming right now. Do any of you have any ideas how I could break it down and make it a bit more reasonable?

Thankfully, I have kept many diaries over the past five years, so I have a pretty decent record of thoughts and feelings.


I saw two movies over the weekend. I give you now the JP's Critic's Corner:

  • In the Bedroo: While watching this, I thought it was an extended interpretation of Robert Frost's poem "Home Burial," (of which you can read about here). It had a lot of the same themes and ideas of that poem, and Sissy Spacek really comes across as I imagined the farmer's wife in that poem. But it is actually based on a short story by an American writer who has since kicked the bucket. It was a great movie. Shocking in some parts, touching in some parts. I thoroughly enjoyed it, though it is quite a depressing movie. It is definitely not a movie you would show at a party. I won't reveal much of the plot for fear of ruining it for you. Just read Robert Frost's poem and you will get the idea.

  • Men in Black II: This movie pretty much sucked. It doesn't even hold a candle to the first one. Was that the general consensus, or did I miss something? My favorite part, though, was the alien race in the lockers at the train station. It was humorous in a dry, "Monty Python"-esque manner. That's my kind of humor.

  • My Big Fat Greek Wedding: Oh. My. Gosh. This is one movie that definitely lives up to the hype. It was one of the funniest, classiest, most appealing movies I have seen in a very long time. You have undoubtedly heard all of the raves about it, so there isn't much I can bring to the party that you haven't heard before. I will say this, though. Nia Vardalos's character had the most drastic transformation from how she looked at the beginning to how she looked when she started going to college. She is a very beautiful woman -- just my type.

It's been a movie-filled weekend for me. I've enjoyed it. I should do it again sometime.

Last weekend, I saw Best in Show. That was also an extremely funny movie. I give it much credit for being very original and creative. I would highly suggest it if you get the chance.


Well, I am off. I need to get at least a few hours' sleep before I go to work.

Unless you all suddenly decided that you would donate some money down at the bottom of the diary. Then, I would never have to work again.

Which reminds me. I bought a powerball ticket the other day and haven't looked to see what the numbers were. Something tells me I didn't win the jackpot.

12:00 a.m. - Sun., Mon., Dec. 9, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster