mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A ten-minute do-up

7:20 As you remember, it usually takes a full hour to hock out one of these diary entries. But not today. No way.

I'm going to write for TEN minutes. That's it. No more. No less. Why the rush? I'll tell you why the rush.

I'm in a rush because I was an idiot and promised my "Seminar in Advanced Writing" class that I would be all nice and cool and cook them gumbo on my last night in class.

Which is tonight.

7:21 And I had a gazillion things to do today for work. I even left a full hour early from work just so I could get everything done.

I had to go to the mall to buy a few gifts for a few people. I had to pick up my photos from the portrait studio and stuff them in the Christmas cards I wrote all day.

If I promised you a Christmas card, you are getting one. So, keep an eye on your mail. If I didn't promise you one, then tough luck, kiddo.

7:22 It's amazing how little I can write in a minute. Especially since when I write especially quickly with no real plan of what I am going to say, I make a lot of errors and have to go back and change them.

So, anyway, I get to the mall and decide that I need a hair cut so I don't look all ragged and messy for my trip home tomorrow.

The same Tuesday Trip Home that is most probably going to get delayed until Wednesday.

7:23 Anyway, so I get my hair all cut pretty-like. Then I headed off to Wal-Mart, which at this time of year is absolutely mad.

Wanna know my biggest pet peeve when I am in a crowded store? Yes, you do. My biggest pet peeve is when I walk behind someone who is going slowly as it is. But I have patience thinking, "Soon, she will walk along and I will be on my merry way." Well, her walking (I say her because 9 times out of 10, it is a woman who does this) slows down little by little. Before you know it, she completely stops. And I feel like taking off my shoe and implanting it DEEPLY into her skull.

7:24 So, I get all of my Wal-Mart stuff, and I finally make it back to my house despite the hellish Columbia holiday traffic.

There is one thing about Columbian drivers that drives me bonkers. Not a single one of them ever read the part in the driving manuel that described the laws concerning traffic lights.

They go on green, of course. They go faster on yellow. Again, of course. But then the light turns red.

7:25 And they still continue to drive through the intersection like the traffic light means absolutely nothing. I swear... I counted at one light. AFTER it had turned red, three cars continued through. THREE. I can understand one car thinking he could make it but end up half-way through when the light turns. But three cars going after the light has already turned is just rediculous.

Whenever I can, I pull out into the intersection when people are doing this (when it is my turn), I get as close to their cars as possible, then lay on the horn.

7:26 I know it's not the safest or best thing to do in the situation. But when they get home, they at least say, "Man. That guy sure was angry that I ran the red light. He must have to cook gumbo for his class tonight and doesn't feel like waiting for my law-breaking ass to get through his intersection." Yep. I bet that's what they say when they get home.

They are nice when they get out of their cars and into the safety of their own home.

7:27 So, I was supposed to call in sick to work tomorrow. But the old, cranky guy who is retiring on Friday is taking a half of the day off tomorrow, and if I called in sick it would leave the crew in a bad way. So, I am letting my conscience take over and am working a full shift tomorrow.

Then, I need to pack, fix some road eats, load up my basic cooking equipment (my mom's kitchen supplies suck), pick up one of my projects from Kinkos...

7:28 The list goes on. This is why it looks more and more like I will chuck the idea of leaving tomorrow and will instead leave super early on Wednesday. If anybody who reads this is on I-55 between St. Louis and Jackson, send me an email. Maybe we can meet for lunch somewhere.

Gosh. Going home is sooooo stressful. Christmas time is soooooo stressful. Trying to please everyone is soooooo stressful.

I need a woman.

7:29 Well, we are nearing the end of tonight's entry. I am exhausted, and I have no desire to write late tonight. That is why I am giving myself a 10-minute entry window. I need to load up the gumbo and head to class. I must feed my fellow starving classmates.

They are a good bunch of classmates at that. I had a great quarter. And if it hadn't have been for my crappy English Lit teacher, it would have been an incredibly great semester. I really couldn't stand the bitch.

7:30 On that note, I must declare this entry finished.

7:20 p.m. - Mon., Dec. 16, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster