mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No, I didn't fall off the side of the mountian. I'm still here.

Yeah, yeah. So, I'm not the best at keeping promises. Sue me.

I know I told you that I would be bringing my laptop to Colorado. I know I also told you that I would be updating every day, telling you all about the exciting things I was doing. And I know -- I could visualize it -- that many of you were sitting on the edges of your collective seats waiting for my daily Colorado diary updates. And I am sure a few tears fell when they didn't arrive as promised.

But, as an old, grumpy Southern man once told me: Hope in one hand and shit in the other. See which fills up first.

Basically what happened was that I ran out of time and space, and decided at the very last minute that I didn't feel like lugging this thing up 10,500 feet into the Rockies. Besides, this laptop is over two years old. I don't know how it would have handled the altitude.

Hopefully better than one of our guys who ended up spending the whole vacation driving the porcelain schoolbus. He didn't handle the two-mile altitude shift well at all.

I handled it... okay. Though not as well as I did four years ago when I last went. It was much harder to walk up and down steps, to tour downtown, and to stand on my head while whistling the theme to "Happy Days."

And the altitude does weird things to just about everything. First off, it makes you feel like you have an extended hangover: pounding headache, achy muscles, no energy, crappy sleep.

Plus, the altitude makes everything go slower. It takes longer to cook stuff. It takes longer to walk anywhere. It took forever for my fountain pens to work. And when I finally wrote stuff, the ink never fully dried.

I had to switch to *gasp* ball-point pens to write with while I was staying in a three-story house overlooking the highest point in Colorado.

It's a hard, challenging life I lead.

What's that? You want to see the house where we stayed for three days? Okay. Here ya go. But only because I feel bad for not updating the past several days.

See that room way up top? That's the "Tower Room." It's the highest point in the house, and it was the bedroom where I slept. It was very neat, with windows all around so you could see all of the mountains. The bed was rather uncomfortable, and the stairs leading up to the room would serve better if they were called a "ladder." But it was well worth it for the privacy and the view.


Well, there is a lot more I could write about. And I will write about it over the next day or two. But for right now, it is almost midnight.

And I have been on the road for 12 hours. And I have to be at work in five hours. And I work for 11 hours after that.

I have to earn some money to pay for this trip.

But ya know... you could help out by pressing the cute little "Donate" button below, *hint* *hint*.

So, thanks for sticking the holiday season out with me. I promise my updating frequency will get back to normal from now on. Yall are a bunch of Niceltons.

From Niceville.

Population: You.

11:04 p.m. - Sun., Jan. 5, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster