mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What �17 will get you...

I have a little wager going with one of my buds.

Carrie's her name. And losing weight is her game.

I've known Carrie for about three or four years. In fact, she went with me -- along with about 10-12 other people -- on my very first Colorado trip back in 1999. I made a little error in judgment when reaching for a glass of water while eating at a fancy restaurant, and it ended up in her lap. We didn't talk for probably two years.

Then, one night last October at a homecoming party some of you may remember, Carrie and I got to talking again, and she fed me about six glasses of a drink I called "Two Different Flavors of Vodka." It's easy to make.

Anyway, we got to talking and ended up enjoying each others' company. After not really making any effort to see her for so long, I was surprised to see that she had lost close to sixty pounds.

And like most women, when the pounds came off, so did the clothes it appeared that her self esteem rose and she became much less likely to punch you in the face if you spilled anything in her lap.

Basically, she knows how to lose weight and get things in gear. I, on the other hand, consider one pound per month rapid weight loss. Therefore, to speed up the process of taking off another 17 lbs, I enlisted her help.

And she has enlisted mine. She, too, wants to lose another 17. That would put her in the mid-120s, and we would both be lookin' goooood.

So, we have a bet. Whoever loses 17 pounds in exactly three months from today wins the wager. If she wins, I will treat her to a weekend bed-and-breakfast outing in beautiful Hermann, Missouri, one of the best winery towns in the Midwest. If I win, I get lots and lots of good lovin'.

Hell. If I treat her to a weekend at a B&B, I better get some good lovin' regardless.

Oh. She has a gajillion hotel points because of her job. So, if she isn't in the mood to give me exceptionally good lovin', she offered to stick me in a hotel anywhere in the country as long as I can get transportation there.

Hmm. Good lovin' on one hand, free Skinamax all night on the other. Tough choice...


As of today, I am officially on the Air Force short-call list if an air traffic control position opens up. In other words, I should probably start preparing this diary for a potential quick exit... temporarily, anyway.

For all of you newbies who don't know (and for you oldies who may not know, either), I will be updating this diary while at boot camp via a good friend of mine who works at the Wall Street Journal. The procedure will work somewhat like this:

I will write down quick journal entries by hand and stuff them in an envelope headed for New Jersey. Mike -- my bud and everlasting devotee -- will transcribe it to the diary and voila! The first ever Diarylander to update while at Boot Camp.

Now, I don't know how well this is going to work. I have no clue how much extra time I will have to write journal entries on paper. It takes me forever to hand-write stuff. And I will also want to write letters home. So... We'll just have to see how well it works.

If it doesn't work all that well, then I will only be there for six weeks. Then, I will be at tech school, where I will have plenty of time to update. Heck, I may even have my own internet connection while at tech school. Who knows?

Regardless... I think Mike will be getting a new TV out of the deal at the very least.

If any of you out there have been to Air Force basic training, or you know someone who has, send me an email telling me how viable this idea sounds. I am most excited about the possibility of being able to update while at basic training. I hope it will work!


What did you do for MiLK day?

I worked only eight of my eleven usual hours at work. Then, I came home and took a two-hour nap. I was going to cook dinner for Terra the Great, but I ended up waking up out of my nap to find her standing at the foot of my bed.

After cleaning up the pee, I found out she was there telling me that she had to work this evening and couldn't do dinner.

That's when I got up, got all diddied up, and went to the gym to attempt to lose the first of my 17 pounds.

Now, I sit and write for you. Isn't it neat when an entire day's worth of events and activities basically all dwindle down to me providing for you? And you didn't even lose any weight!

10:44 p.m. - Mon., Jan. 20, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster