mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The fellas on the news said to stay inside tonight...

WARNING:

A Wind Chill Advisory remains In Effect For Eastern And Central Missouri Tonight And Thursday Morning. The Combination Of Bitterly Cold Arctic Air And The New Fresh Snow Cover Will Result In One Of The Coldest Nights Experienced In The Last Several Years. Air Temperatures By Early Thursday Morning Will Dip To Around 5 Below Zero In Central Missouri. The Combination Of These Bitterly Cold Temperatures With North Winds Of 10 To 20 Mph Will Result In Dangerous Wind Chill Values Of 15 To 25 Below Zero.

That is a direct snippet from my Weather Bug weather thingie. It stays down by the clock in your taskbar. Unless you are one of those Mac weirdos, in which case I'm not sure they make it for you.

But I like how the weather warning takes the time and space to make mention that this is going to be the coldest night experienced in the past couple of years. As I write this, the wind chill is already at -12, with an air temperature of 5. I made a few calls and talked to some high-ranking people.

It is officially "ludicrously cold." So what's a guy to do? I go walking in it. And I brought my camera so all of you can see what it looks like when a Southern boy experiences real winter weather.

First off, this is my heavy winter coat that my dad gave me before I moved up here. It's an Eddie Bauer coat with real wolf fur around the head. He got it from his job (he works as a civilian for the navy) as an oceanographer. He went to the Arctic to do some studies up there, and the Navy bought a ton of these super-expensive heavy coats for all of the workers. When they got back, instead of just storing them, they literally put them in a dumpster.

My dad, being ever so cheap frugal, jumped into the dumpster after work and brought home about four or five of these coats. Probably at LEAST $3,000 worth.

And I got one! Woot!

You may be wondering why I am standing there with my arms all outstretched. Just like the little kid in "A Christmas Story," I couldn't put my arms down! And, strangely enough, when I got all bundled up, I had to pee like a mofo.

While walking around, I went by several houses with "virgin" driveways. That is, the snow hadn't been driven on, even though people lived there. So, I found an especially nice driveway, carefully walked half-way up, and made a snow angel. A particularly nice one at that, if I may toot my own horn.

I wish I could see the peoples' faces when they see it in the morning. Hopefully it will give them a bit of a smile.


Out of the blue, someone signed my Diaryland notes thingamajig that I never advertise but have significant signage. It's always a bit surprising when I get a Diaryland note.

Anyway, she said that she, too, loves chai and that it is fantastic that someone named their diary after the frothy, milky beverage.

I had to email her and say that the "chai" part of my username isn't the drink but the Hebrew character that symbolizes life (or the number 18). I hated to disappoint her.

Especially since she is one of the hottest Diaryland chicks I have seen in a long time. Girls with glasses rawk my socks.

She sent me more pictures of her wearing glasses... and not much else.

I kid, I kid.

Someone should make a diary called "Diaryland's Hottest" and have lots of pictures of the best-looking girls and -- just to keep things fair -- guys. I bet it would be one of the most popular diaries on here. I would be willing to get it started if someone would want to partner up with me.

Anyone? Hello? Bueller... Bueller...


So, yeah... This diary is just a babbling entry. If my life were a TV show, I would have definitely opted to play a rerun today. The only time I left the house was to go on my walk.

I lazied around most of the day. I did clean my kitchen, but mostly because I wanted to cook dinner and can't do so with a messy kitchen.

I also practiced my violin. Yes, I am still taking lessons. If you are lucky enough and message me on AIM, you get to see my super kewl web cam. Some of you got to watch me practice that today. That's about the extent of my productivity for today.

Oh. For all of you who didn't think this diary was invading my privacy enough, I've included another bit of information at the top of the diary, under the title. I'm including a section called "What I'm eating." Now you can see what a former professional chef/cook eats on a daily basis. I've had people in real life ask how I eat when I cook for myself. Now you will be able to find out every day.

Yay.


Well, that's about it from JP-Land. Hopefully tomorrow will be more productive than today. I have a violin lesson. I have school. I need to do laundry. I need to go collect some money from my recruiter. He owes me twenty bucks. I need to go work out so I can collect on my bet from Carrie.

Sounds like enough stuff to write about for tomorrow night.

I will sign off with a very sexy quote from one of my favorite poets, Pablo Neruda:

I want to do with you what the spring does with the cherry trees.

12:16 a.m. - Thurs., Jan. 23, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster