mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We once again revisit the 18 year-old JP

Today's entry orginally wasn't going to happen.

I went to work at 5am. Worked until 3:00, at which point I left early. I had dubbed all of my commercials. I had recorded all of my syndication. I did all of the flirting I could possibly do with the cute promotions girls. My day had, in effect, been done.

I went to my school to get my student loan refund check so I could continue to live the extravegant lifestyle I currently enjoy.</sarcasm> By the way, go look at my school's homepage. Look at the picture of the front of my school's main building all covered in snow. See the UFO flying above it? Funny, huh?

Anyway, I then went to my bank to deposit said check into my sunburned bank balance. Then, I went to my recruiter to collect the $20 he owes me.

"Oh, I'll get it to you at the next DEP meeting." I told him I was gonna send Bruno to break his thumbs if he didn't get it to me. I tell ya... he looked real worried.

Then, I came home, turned on some show on The Learning Channel, and the next I knew it was almost 10:00 at night. Not much stuff happening in a day to justify a diary entry.

So, to keep all of yas interested, I dug out that notebook I wrote in for my very first college English class. English Composition I. What a hoot.

I hated doing journal entries. The teacher would give us journal topics, and we were to write two pages on the topic.

Ya hear that? I hated doing journal entries. I'll let you chew on the irony as you read this selection. Remember that I was 18, still surrounded and engulfed by the very religious South, and... well... pretty much an idiot.


If I Could Have Three Wishes

I have always enjoyed the stories about the people who picked up the lamp, fed the fish, or did something similar, and they were compensated with three wishes. I enjoyed these stories because they make a person -- me, for instance -- think what they would wish for. And it made me wish it would happen to me.

Throughout my life, I have pondered what those three wishes would be. The greedy side in me would want money, but that would cause more trouble than good. The logical part would order three more wishes. But I hear that doing that is against the rules.

So, three is the number of wishes I have been granted, and the number of wishes granted has been counted at three. I could possibly wish to be done with this journal entry!

I know that I would have to be very careful with what I say. I am the worst to say, "I wish I could..." or "I wish she would come over here and..." A lot of things would happen that I didn't really intend. Also, I would have to word my wishes very carefully. I've read several stories about genies who granted wishes extremely literally, garnishing undesired outcomes. I would probably hire a lawyer to word my wishes for me. But, for the sake of quickness, and since I have no money, I won't hire any lawyers for this journal entry.

My first wish idea comes from the Bible. I can't recall exact names at the moment except for God.

Here's what happened: God gave the man (in this instance, we'll call him Bob) one wish, and he wished for supreme knowlege and wisdom. God was proud of Bob, and so God gave Bob his wish. Bob went on to write the book of Proverbs. Bob was a smart, wise man, and so I would make my first wish to be granted supreme knowlege and wisdom.

The second wish is kind of an unusual plead. I have always looked upon Superman and Peter Pan with a tinge of jealousy. The reason being that I would love to have the ability to fly at will. I think it would be so exciting to get a good book, fly up above the clouds late at night, and read the book by the light of the moon.

I don't know what my final wish would be. I guess to always be happy, or to never hurt. There's really nothing else I can think that would be wishful.

The End


In retrospect, I think I would use that last wish to become invisible whenever I wanted. Think of all of the perverse things you could do with that ability.

I would go into detail, but I really must get to bed.

Tomorrow (Tuesday) is Hell Day. I may or may not get to do some writing tomorrow night. If not, I'll see you on Wednesday.

12:24 p.m. - Tues., Jan. 28, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster