mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What a REAL guy thinks...

I tell ya... The more I listen to LaunchCast from Yahoo, the more I like it. It is definitely worth the $3 per month. But like anything I enjoy and ends up truly being a good service, they will probably up the subscription cost to, like, $89 per week.

What? You don't want to pay a lousy $3 per month to clear your stolen MP3 conscious and help those artists you enjoy so much? Well, good thing for you they have a completely free version. You just have to listen to ads every third or fourth song. It's not that bad.

If you want, you can listen to my station. According to my little personal page, it says:

Listen to JP's Station! Featuring: Alison Krauss, John Prine, Jewel, Dixie Chicks, Red Hot Chili Peppers, U2, Aerosmith, Papas Fritas, Dwight Yoakam, Nickel Creek, and Tom Petty.

I would say I'm a definite folk fan with leanings toward adult rock. Tom Petty is actually one of my favorite artists of all time, though I much prefer his later stuff than his 70s rock.

Yet LaunchCast seems to think I like Dwight Yoakam better. Hrumph.

What's neat is when I first started, it played a lot of crap I absolutely hate: Celine Dion, Mariah, Michael Jackson, etc. But you rate the artists, and the more you rate -- I've rated 218 songs so far -- the more it adjusts to your tastes. It's getting pretty dead-on now. Except it plays way too much Queen.

What I find the most amazing part of it is that this is CD-quality streaming. The last stations I tried streaming were RealPlayer broadcasts of actual radio stations. They sounded like AM broadcasts coming out of speakers designed for FM stations.

Have you ever heard an AM station coming out of appropriate speakers? It's really quite nice.

My main gripe about LaunchCast is that they seem to have forgotten to equalize the audio levels of all of their songs. There aren't major changes in volume levels, but you can definitely tell when one song is quiet then the next song is loud. I'm sure my neighbors adore me.

If you listen to my station, email me and tell me what you think.


I had a really fun weekend, and I will write about it tomorrow. I'll give you a little gristle to chew on until then to keep you in waiting: I about killed myself and my friend Carrie. On two separate occasions. With a hammer and chisel.

It was fun, lemme tell ya.

But in between suicidal probings into different electrical divices, I stopped and read Glamour magazine. I believe it is the most recent one. There is an article about Yasmine Bleeth doing cocain. Poor her, and all that.

Anyway, they had an interesting article about what guys think about certain topics, called something like "What Guys Think in their 20s, 30s, and 40s."

They would ask the same question to guys in -- you guessed it -- their 20s, 30s, and 40s.

So, I wrote down the questions they posed to the bunch of idiotic guys in their 20s (if you read the article, you will know what I am talking about), and am offering you insight to what a real guy thinks on the following topics. Hope you like it!

A bit of warning to those of you who know me personally. There are sex-related questions here. If you want to keep a healthy distance between knowing just enough and knowing way too much, I suggest pre-reading questions before reading answers.

What's the #1 quality you look for in a potential girlfriend?

This reminds me of a quote from one of my favoritest movies, "So I Married an Axe Murderer." Mike Myers answers this exact question with: "Well, I know everyone always says 'sense of humor', but I'd really have to go with "breast size". Heh. Words to live by.

But seriously, I need a girl who is equal parts caring and loyal with successful and independent. Looks matter, sure, but I'm not into the modern idea of beauty. Musicians drive me bonkers, and it is so intellectually and spiritually attractive. Any girl who can make me feel comfortable being myself around her is a definite keeper.

Favorite bra size?

I dunno. Whatever ends up being on my bedroom floor? That's such an irrelevant factor, really. Though I will say that I like breast sizes that are proportionate to the girl's natural body. Some girls look great with small breats. Some bodies better support larger sweater puppies. It's this reason why I dislike fake boobs. They don't look like real breasts. They almost always throw off the proportions and makes the girl look all cockeyed. And plus... it's just irrelevant to the type of girl it is.

How often would you like to have sex?

Depends on the girl, I suppose. If it is someone I really like and want to feel closer to, then as much as we can. But I'm not out paying for sex, either. So, it's not like I have to have the sex three times every day. I'm not saying three times a day would be bad. But really... I have things I need to do.

What do you know about sex and love now that you didn't know at 18?

That women don't have to look like a supermodel in order to be a great girlfriend. In fact, its the girls who don't look like supermodels that end up being the better girlfriends. The girls at 18 who can get away with anything by their looks usually try to do so. They feel they don't have to be as dedicated and loving because they are doing you a favor by sleeping with you. You owe them by catering to their every whim.

I've also learned that older girls are much better girlfriends than the younger ones. For many, many reasons. It's like their ability to love and show their love grows with age. I'm not harping on the younger ladies... I'm just stating what I've observed.

What's so great about women?

They way they reach over while you are driving and play with your hair. Man, that's fantastic.

What are the best and worst things about women your age?

I'll start with the worst. I think the worst thing about women my age (mid-20s) is that many of the good ones are already taken. And the good ones who aren't taken have just gotten out of a long-term relationship that ended badly, therefore they aren't willing to risk anything big on you.

The best thing is that girls my age are completely out of the awkward teenage and "very early twenty" years where they don't know who they are or what they want in life. Girls my age know what they want and they are out to get it. They are very confident and sure of themselves. And what's best is that they are coming around to understanding that their role in relationships is to be the woman and should be treated as such. They are very lady-like these days, which I love.

What are the best and worst things about sex at your age?

Best: It's no longer awkward and scary as it was as a teen. Weird body parts don't shoot out in weird directions. Plus, you don't have to worry about your folks coming home and finding you on the kitchen table. And the girls don't run away screaming anymore.

Worst: It's no longer new and unexplored territory. It's just as much part of a relationship as is the new and unexplored questions of, "Can I buy a toothbrush and leave it here?" and "Can I put tampons under your sink?"

The only thing better than sex is...

Fresh bread straight out of the oven, breaking off a large chunk in your hand, and slathering on honey butter you made just minutes before taking the bread out -- shared with the woman you love, both of you clad in flannal pajamas.

11:10 p.m. - Sun., Feb. 9, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster