mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I quit! Done! Finished!

For the first time in...

Well, this is harder than I thought. I would like to say "For the first time in four and a half years, I don't have a job." But other than a week here and there, I've been working full-time since I was seventeen. I'm twenty-five now.

So...

For the first time in eight years -- save for a week between jobs here and there -- I am officially not working.

I have never known not working full-time while going to college full-time. I was paying income tax on April 15 before I was even eighteen! So, to have almost three months ahead of me completely bare, I feel weird.

Literally, the first thing on my mind when I left work today was, "There's that gourmet deli and cheese shop down the road. I wonder if I could get a job there for a few weeks..." But I must stifle my workaholic tendencies...

But still... They have fresh tuna there. I would work there for the sole reason of bringing home fresh tuna every night.

Anyway. Yeah. I'm jobless. I should go stand on a street corner. Beg for change. Or for other things you beg for on street corners, wink wink nudge nudge.


I'm trying to think if anything of any other importance happened during the weekend. But nope. Just me quitting my job.

The good news for you is that I will have much more to write about on Mondays and Tuesdays. Except for maybe this next Monday and Tuesday. I have a paper and presentation due in my grammar class. I'm writing about autism and how it affects laguage.

Should be most interesting, I tell ya.

Since I've done very little nothing on the paper/research so far, I'll be hanging out in the library for the next two days.

I'm ready to graduate. This whole school thing is just getting out of hand.


Oh. I almost forgot.

My sister -- who is pregnant with what I feel may be twins -- woke everyone up back home on Saturday morning at seven o'clock in the AM having a pretty massive seizure.

They rushed her to the hospital and got her stabilized. She about bit her tongue off, and she can't keep anything in her memory for too long. My mom says she keeps asking the same questions over and over.

Poor girl.

Keep her in your thoughts. I'll keep you updated.


And finally, a bit of current events.

It's too bad that the media covers all of the anti-war rallies that go on all over the place. But when a 6,000-10,000-strong pro-America rally goes on in Houston, Texas, not a single broadcast news arena carries it.

Is a 6,000-people march in Houston just too small for the networks? How about 30,000 people marching in favor of the US in Seol, South Korea?

Plus, the it seems like the idea of being a Human Shield isn't as fun when the Human part realizes exactly what the Shield part does. It seems like a genocidal dictator isn't worth losing your life over. I guess they figured it would be better to let the military do their job after all.

And finally, Janeane Garofalo admits that the reason she is so vocal about protesting this war is because it wasn't as cool to protest Clinton. She wants to be in the "in crowd."

I think we all know where I stand on the war debate. But don't get me wrong. I am all for people protesting it. People have just as much of a right to protest the war as I do to rally for it. But there are a few things that burn my cookies about some protesters.

First, they are hanging outside military bases. That's just not kosher. That's barking completely up the wrong tree. If you want to protest to the right people, go to Washington or -- in the very least -- go to the steps of your local courthouse. Don't bitch and complain to people who are just following orders.

And if you are going to protest this war and not the preemptive strikes that Clinton did that could arguably be a major part of the animosity being held in the Middle East right now, be prepared to give a better argument than, "It wasn't cool then, but it is cool now."

That's just being plain dumb.

. . .

Thank you, and goodnight.

11:48 p.m. - Sun., Mar. 2, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster