mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm homeless. How was your day?

I am typing on one of those high-falootin' ergonomic keyboards that were all the rage a few years ago.

If I was a traditional typer, this would go by much quicker. But I started typing on computers when I was about seven or eight years old and ended up teaching myself the JP method of typing: whichever finger is closest to a letter at any given time will be the official correct finger for said letter at that moment. This whole "proper way to type" is a sham. It has taken me five minutes to type what you have read so far.

Stupid proper people.


Well, if my story was any different, you would have sworn that today was when I had reached the reputable "rock bottom" that you have heard so much about.

I am now officially without a home. I no longer have access to a car. All of my furniture was taken away. My electricity was turned off. And so was my gas.

But it is all in good humor since we know that I am embarking on a four week trek through Canada and the American Northeast with someone who, by all accounts, is a total stranger.

My train departs St. Louis at 4:30am tomorrow morning, and it will arrive in Chicago at around 10am. I'm definitely not setting my clock by Amtrak's accuracy, so I figure I could arrive anywhere between 10am and Wednesday.

My friend Kelly is graciously waking up at 3:45am to drive me to the station. Wasn't that sweet? Awww.

So, yeah. That's my day tomorrow. Send me text messages via the link in the upper left of my diary since I will be sitting on a train for potentially the whole day.


I won't be writing much tonight because of my long day of packing and moving (which started at 7am and lasted pretty much up until... now) and because I have used up my supply of profanity for a day at this stupid keyboard.

Oh, and Kelly keeps singing "Blame Canada" to me. If you knew Kelly, you'd understand the humor in that.

So, I am off. My next update will be in Chicago... merely 24 hours and a few hundred miles from meeting my travel partner.

8:57 p.m. - Mon., Mar. 17, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster