mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm cranky, but I still can show some love.

Whew. So much to say and so little time to say it in.

First off, I think I *may* be about done with all of my packing. I have been busting it all weekend to get things boxed up and ready to go. This whole packing thing is a bitch. After helping several people move already packed boxes from various points A to various other points B but not really having packed said boxes myself, I think I have come to the conclusion that moving is not nearly as bad as packing.

Packing got me to thinking about burglars and the art of burglarizing someone's house. In the movies and TV shows, you see people going out for a 25� cup of coffee, maybe pick up a newspaper on the way out, stop to sneeze, etc. Basically, they leave the house for 10-15 minutes, come back, and the Burglars have come, emptied their houses, and left, leaving nothing more than a few pieces of silverware and 27 pounds of dog food on their bed.

I'm here to tell you that that is a bunch of horse hockey.

First off, it has taken me almost a solid week of packing and cleaning to get to where I am right now � a whole living room full of stuff that need to either 1) go to the Goodwill, 2) go to the recycling bin, 3) go to the trash, or 4) go to my storage place. There is no way in hell that a burglar could do the same thing I have done in the amount of time it would take to go to Starbucks.

Yep. I think I've proved it yet again. Everything you see in the movies just isn't real. I know. I was surprised, too.


So, today is my last day in JP-Land. It has been a good four years here. There are definitely a lot of great memories here, yet there are also a lot of crappy memories, too. I'm glad I stayed here, but then again I am glad I am leaving.

A living space is like a sponge of memories. A memory sponge. It soaks up every memory of your life there, and like the nasty sponge by your sink, every now and then brown, smelly goo comes out when you squeeze it.

At least it does in mine.

I dunno where I am going with this. I guess I just kept running across too many Mandy memories while cleaning: Kool-Aid packs, old arts-and-crafts projects, little notes she once wrote. And instead of it making me sappy and sentimental, it made me more and more resentful towards her. I'm glad her lesbian ass left. I hope she has a crappy life.

Wow. That was mean. Be like Mr. Rogers� Be like Mr. Rogers�

"You are the only one like you," he sang. Thank GOD there is only one like her!

I've enjoyed this place the most, though, while living alone. I am too much of an alone person to live here with others. I enjoyed it when Mandy the Psycho Lesbian Ex was just Mandy the Girlfriend, but things changed, I ended up getting crappy roommates�

I grew up.

And, like I said, I am glad I've lived here for nearly four years. But I am glad I am going.


Ok. Enough of the bitterness. I'm sorry. I've been packing ALL day, and I still have a lot to do. I am tired. I am sore. I am cranky. I am overwhelmed by all that's left to do. And all I want is for my trip to start.

Anyway, I need to send out some good, good lovin' to a few people.

The first one is Kelly, who VERY generously donated a whopping $10 to my diary fund. That was most, most kind of her, and I am ever so grateful! If I can get another $15, I will register a domain name (most likely www.JP-LAND.com) that will link back to this site. I won't beg for money, but I will say to go read Kelly. She's super kewl.

And another superkewl girl is Jenn. Look down at the bottom of my diary, in the blue. See the new banner ad she made for my upcoming trip? Can you believe I just gave her a very basic idea of what I generally wanted, and she came up with that. How amazing is that?!

If this is a sign of good things to come for my trip, I think I will do fine.

In fact, there are several things that have pointed to a great trip so far: free travel through Canada, cheaper-than-expected lodging, last minute Rail Sale tickets between St. Louis and Chicago making that round trip cost less than $24� Oh yes. This is going to be a fantastic trip.

Anyway, Jenn should go check out this entry of Kelly's. It's a banner ad contest. She's got a shoe in for the prize.


Alright, kiddos. This is the last entry from JP-Land. In 26 hours, I will be on a train bound for Chicago. I will try and update tomorrow night from my friend KT's house in St. Louis. He's oh so graciously offering to take me to the train station at 4am Tuesday morning.

So, if I don't get to update in St. Louis, you will hear from me in Chicago. I'll be staying here, if any of you Chicago people wanna come by and say hello. Then Wednesday morning, I depart from Chicago headed for Toronto where I will meet up with my travel bud Nicole.

That's when the fun will begin.

Take care!

2:29 a.m. - Mon., Mar. 17, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster