mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day #9: A Quick Hello from Montreal!

This is going to be a really quick entry. Partly because of the stupid ergonomic keyboard, and partly because I don't have much time at the internet kiosk tonight.

We made it into Montreal during mid-afternoon yesterday. Since I am really trying to watch my funds, we ended up not doing much at all yesterday. I walked downtown to a grocery store to get the fixins for dinner. That was about it.

My dinner ended up making me famous in the hostel. It was one of my favorite salads, called something like "mixed greens with different sauteed veggies topped with browned chicken, dressed with olive oil and lemon juice, and topped with feta cheese." I had several people in the kitchen comment about it. And then today, when many miles away from the hostel, someone came up to me and said they recognized me "from the salad."

I got a good laugh.

The people in the hostel are really nice. I met a guy whose parents moved from the Congo to Paris, had him, thus making him the blackest person I have ever met... and he speaks French. Weird.

He has played me in chess for four games, and I have yet to win a single one. But he is very nice and I enjoy hearing his stories.


I wish I had more time, because Nicole and I went to eat at a place tonight that blew me away. I'll just say this: all you can eat muscles in every sauce you can imagine with a beer list of over 150 beers.

A. Maze. Ing.

Montreal is very much more European than Toronto. Frankly, I'm glad I am out of Toronto. Too expensive and too much like an American city.

I'll write more when I get a chance. Take care and send me emails! Sorry if I can't respond in a timely manner...

10:15 p.m. - Wed., Mar. 26, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster