mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day #25: Well, they have Iced Tea. That's about it.

I've spent the last 24 hours in (in? on?) Long Island visiting Nicole one last time.

My first impression of Long Island is that there isn't much here. And gas is really, really expensive. Granted, we haven't gone all around the island seeing all of the many things I'm sure Long Island has to offer. So, I am basing my impressions on the limited exposure to the island I have had for the past 24 hours, and those impressions are still that I don't think there is much to Long Island.

Nicole took me out last night with some of her friends to a restaurant called the Post Office. We both got a pasta dish that was quite tasty. My favorite thing about the restaurant, though, were the shirts some of the waitstaff were wearing. They were of a solid dark blue color, but the back of the shirts had the restaurant's initials on them, "PO."

I wanted one of those shirts because after this trip, that's what I am. Po.

Har har.

It was a good restaurant. I got to meet the Nicole Krew. Everyone gives you one of those fake kisses on the cheek when you say goodbye. I'm quite a fan of that. More people should do it.

I also got to meet Nicole's grandma. I wish I could spend more time getting to know her. I'm sure she's quite a character. But alas, I am leaving in less than two hours for my long trek to Chicago. I'm sad to be leaving Nicole. It was a risky experiment to have her along on the Canada trip, but we have become really close friends over the past three weeks. We'll probably keep in touch for a very long time.

<tear>

Twenty hours is how long my train trip to Chicago will be. After my travels are done, I won't want to see the inside of another train for the rest of my days.


Well, Lisa the Polymer Scientist has redeemed herself from that whole "I can't figure out how much money 600 nickles makes" incident.

To make a long story short, after I won over 600 nickles at a slot machine when she and I went gambling, we spent a good thirty minutes trying to figure out how much money that was. I'm an English major, so I have a good excuse, but I poke fun because she's getting her doctorate in polymer science where I am sure there is at least a little bit of math going on.

We were flustered from holding 600 nickles. We know how to do it. Thanks.

Anyway, she sent me the following message which really made my day:

That's usually the way it works for me too. As soon as you do something really cool (like getting on tv.) no one is around to see it. Well, NOT THIS TIME, my friend. I TOTALLY saw you on the tv in my very own living room.. WOO-HOO!! In my eyes, you are now a tv star!! =) AND... I taped it!!

Isn't Lisa the Polymer Scientist just the absolute coolest? If she were a mouthwash, she'd be Coooool Mint Listerine. If she were a rapper, she'd be Coolio. But... uh... white.

I can't wait to go down to Mississippi now so I can see what I looked like on TV. I bet I'm hot!


To make sure I don't end up getting jumped somewhere by some guy with strong Italian roots...

I was really joking about Long Island. Beautiful place. I wish I could move here.


Since I will be in America for the whole trip to Chicago, you can definitely send me text messages via that link up there, and I can actually get them. Send me your cell phone number and I'll see if I can text message you in return.

I always feel bad that people take the time to message me and they never know if I get it or not. I do! I just can't write back...

Well, I need to pack up and eat and get ready for yet another long-ass train ride. Nicole's loading me up with Tylenol PM so I can be unconscious for much of the ride.

9:55 a.m. - Fri., Apr. 11, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster