mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Illegal partakings in Panama City

After twelve hours on the road, I finally arrived in Maryville, Tennessee, last night at around 11:30 local time.

It's spelled "Maryville," like you were supposed to pronounce it "Mary Vill." But everyone around here calls it "Mair Vull." I've lived away from my Southern kin way too long.

I'm trying to think if anything exciting happened on my way down, but I'm afraid to write anything of interest, I'd have to lie. And nobody likes a liar, right?

Oh! I did drive through Kentucky: "Home of the Ugly Chick." That's pretty neat.


When I finally got in and checked my email before going to bed, I saw I got an email from a reporter from Panama City, Florida. I was born there, and I kinda half-way grew up there. All of my family lives there, and so we used to go there all the friggin' time to visit old relatives and cousins I had nothing in common with. The folks would take me to the beach, I think, in hopes that a rip tide would take me out to sea so my dear mom could finally get some peace and quiet.

The reporter wants to write an article about blogging (and diarying, I assume) and is going to use me as a subject. The article, according to Mr. Journalist, is in its infant stages, so I hope he gets it written before I go off to the Air Force.

Speaking of food... (yeah, yeah, I know...) You can buy some killer seafood from Panama City. And, if you are daring and want to break some laws, you can do what I did quite often when I was younger and get the seafood for free.

We'd take the boat out into the gulf -- there are some smaller islands off one the bays in Panama City, and the pickins were good there for some fresh crabs. So, we'd put on our mask, snorkle, and fins, and we would swim around on the surface of 15-20 feet water until we saw a crab crawling on the floor.

We'd then hold our breath, dive down, and scoop up the crab with a little net so our fingers didn't get pinched by theirs.

The reason our little foray was illegal was because 1) they were spawning females in an admittedly over-harvested area; 2) we didn't have any licenses; and 3) we took way more than we should have.

But we had a lot of people to feed. And it was free. And I feel bad about it now, so that makes it all ok...

... right?

I've also snorkled for hours getting scallops. I'm a huge fan of scallops, and eating a scallop that thought four hours ealier it was going to live a long, safe life is a culinary experience that can't be rivaled.

I don't know if the scallops were illegal or not, but they don't provide the laughs at family gatherings that the crabs do.


Ok, well I'm in the great Smokey Mountains, and there is a lot to see. So, I don't really want to spend all day writing for all of youins.

I learned that word this morning.

So, have a good day. Write me. Send me dirty pictures. Yada, yada, yada.

12:24 p.m. - Friday, Apr. 25, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster