mychai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Great... Now the whole world knows...

Well. I've passed one of the markers that show that you are alive and breathing in the blogging world. Or something like that.

Remember several weeks ago I said I had a reporter from The News Herald in Panama City write me an email saying he was going to write an article about blogging and wanted to use me as a source? Well, he asked some questions. I answered him. And then I kinda forgot about it.

Well, yesterday, at around 3:30, I was out washing my car and doing some chores for my poor overworked mother. I was enjoying the surge in my productivity when my mom ended up right beside me, scaring the bajeezus out of me.

She's got a terrible habit of doing that.

She said, "Your Aunt Myrt just called and said there is an article in the Panama City newspaper written about you."

"Oh? What ab--" I paused. "Ohhhhh."

The first thought that went through my mind was Wow! Neat! I've been the subject of an article in a real newspaper!

Then I thought Wow! Neat! A lot of people are going to be reading my diary!!

And then I thought Ugh. Not so neat. A lot of people who don't know -- and don't need to know -- about this here diary will now be reading it.

See. My mom doesn't know about this here diary. Nobody in my family knows about it. My dad found it once, but as far as I can tell he never really read it much. It's an unwritten rule of thumb in the blog/diary world to not have your family find your site. It's like it should be in the "10 Commandments of Blogging":

Thou shalt not let thine mothers or thine fathers read thine blog, which is frequented with vile words and mentions of sexual acts.

When one's mother or father does happen to stumble across one's blog, it more times than not results in the death of said blog with all entries and archives deleted.

Now, imagine having your entire family and extended family finding your diary all on the same day. Can I hear a collective "Oi vey"?!

But don't worry my friends. This diary will continue to chug along.

Oh. When I called my Aunt Myrt to ask about the article, the first thing she said to me was, "Is this the nephew who is going to write my eulogy?"

Old people can be so grim!


I fixed the link on the left (in the blue) that directed you to my photo gallery.

I used to have the HTML and pictures stored on my old ISP back in Columbia. But when I moved, the account on that server went kaputt, as did all of my pics stored on there and any bits of programming I did.

Now that the Super Gold membership on Diaryland allows for 30 megs of storage, I can move all of the pictures here. Which is what I did.

It's the same image gallery as you have seen before, just in a little different format. But go look at the pictures anyway. Tell me what you think.


I had a fun weekend.

I had to drive down to the Gulf Coast on Saturday in order to get an airline ticket.

Oh. I forgot to mention that the possibility of me shipping off to the Air Force from New Orleans got officially nipped in the bud on Friday afternoon. So, I have to fly all the way to Missouri just so I can fly back down to Texas. What a friggin' hassle.

Anyway, so I went down to get my tickets because I had to show my military orders in order to bypass a lot of extra fees. It saved me $100, so gooo military!

(That's me being facetious, by the way.)

My friend Lish came along, and I was jonesing for a hamburger and beer. We went to a dark, quiet bar right on the waterfront. I really must start bringing my camera everywhere I go, because this was a neat bar.

I had two beers. Lish drank her body weight in beer. I ordered a hamburger called a "Juicy Lucy." Supposedly, it is the coast's "juiciest hamburger." It is also formed around a center of real cheddar cheese, which is what sold me.

It was tasty. It was also just what I had been craving. Hamburgers and beer.

Afterwards, we went to the movies to see "Anger Management." It wasn't what I was expecting, but it was a good movie. I'd give it 3 out of 5 stars. I liked it up until the happy, "All of the characters play 'Ring Around the Rosey'" scene at the very end.

It was definitely nice to get out of Picayune for a while. It was the first time I had left Picayune or my dad's farm since I arrived. I need to do it more often.


Ok. Time for me to hit the hay. I have no clue what I am doing tomorrow.

I know I need to go get a driver's license because my license expires a few days before I go to boot camp, and I will need a current one before leaving. So, it looks like I will have to spend even more money that I don't have.

I've mentioned I'm already in the red, right?

And I have two trips coming up -- besides the trip back to Missouri -- that I will talk about later. Money for those will have to come from somewhere.

Maybe Al Capone buried his loot in the last place the cops would look: South Mississippi.

Hey. A boy can dream, right?

11:48 p.m. - Sun., May 11, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sinnamon
unclebob
kitty-kaboom
mariel
stwig
eibisch
wicked-sezzy
johndavid
racer96
epiphany
switchcraft
roklobster